Gamers logo

Now is the time to return to Animal Crossing New Horizons

From Brewster to over 9,000 new items, ACNH is sparking joy again!

By Sophia GenoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Now is the time to return to Animal Crossing New Horizons
Photo by Sara Kurfeß on Unsplash

After a long few months of no updates to ACNH the biggest update ever has come around. This update includes the long-awaited character Brewster and much more including thousands of new items, a DLC, and recipe making!

Many of us became tied up in the time that ACNH went without an update, becoming busy and caught up in life as fall came and school started. Many people including me made a big change in that time. I moved to a new city, was stressed out while finding an apartment, and job hunted for months. During that time I was all over the place mentally and found it hard to enjoy things, even playing a game like Animal Crossing.

But after settling in my apartment finally and getting a few pet sitting jobs, I was so thrilled to hear of the new update and everything it had in store. Since starting to play again I finally have inspiration for my island and I started to enjoy the little things again.

My favorite things about the update

Cooking!

Animal crossing has long been loved for romanticizing simple activities like fishing, farming, building, etc. And now cooking has finally been added to ACNH! With so many lovely things to cook and bake the game just got a new level of cuteness and fun. Not to mention food items other than tree fruit are finally edible! Needless to say, I love the cooking update it is very cute and with new food recipes available from the Thanksgiving event it became even more special with pumpkin pie, clam chowder, and more. If you missed the Thanksgiving event you can change your switch's time to November and buy the recipes at Nook's Cranny from Nov 25-30.

Brewster

We all felt a hole in the game since its launch and it did not include Brewtster. I have had many friends even return to ACNH just because he was added. And you can get him from traveling with the boat at your dock (also a new feature) and talking to him on the small island. He will then come to your island in the cafe in the museum the next day. Our old friend is finally back! and his sleek cafe offers a cup of coffee for 200 bells and an amiibo station to invite villagers. Although I missed him, it still stings when he tells me to leave the reserved seating in the cafe.

On Harvey's island there are many new vendors!

Maybe my favorite of all, it that now on Harv's island there are many vendors including Redd, Kicks, Reese and Cyrus, Leif, Katrina the fortune teller, Harriet the poodle, Sahara, and Tortmier! Now instead of waiting for their random visits (besides the new characters), you can pay to have them permanently on Harv's island. I cannot wait to have them all there so I can finally reform my furniture and make everything pink, but there are many more opportunities to customize your island with this new feature. The only downside is it costs 100,000 bells to open each of the 7 vendors. I am still rather poor in Animal Crossing so it will take me a while...

The new update has much more to offer than I listed here, so I urge you to go check it out! As the year comes to a close and seasons change it is a good time to make time for yourself and play a little Animal Crossing. Especially since it can help you appreciate small victories inside the game, and out. Since I started playing again, I am even more proud of myself when I put together furniture for my new apartment. Not to mention, if you are like me and couldn't travel to see family for the holidays, Animal crossing helped me feel much more festive this year.

new releases
3

About the Creator

Sophia Geno

I love to write about travel, poems, art, and social issues. Stay with me for Korean content, and more!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.