Fiction logo

You're Gonna Love this Place!

Vocal Community Microfiction Series - Wander

By Loryne AndaweyPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
14
You're Gonna Love this Place!
Photo by Avel Chuklanov on Unsplash

My seatmate, Karl, was ecstatic. "Oh, you're gonna love this place! Food, entertainment, everything here is top notch."

"I'm only here for-"

"Business?" Karl howled and slapped his knee. "Me too kid! But you gotta make room for life!"

"Ah..." I smiled and tried to excuse myself, but then,"-wait a minute." I pointed. "Is that-?"

"Yep!"

Lined up against a wall stood a flashing row of slot machines. Two of them were already occupied.

"But we just got off the plane!" I cried.

Karl's laughter boomed throughout the airport.

"Welcome to Vegas, baby!"

By Hans Isaacson on Unsplash

*

*

*

Thank you for lingering

Short StorySeriesMicrofiction
14

About the Creator

Loryne Andawey

Health, Happiness & Abundance.

Currently enjoying the company of Francis, Mike, C.H., Gammastack, Michelle, Cosimo, Kristen, Bronson, Bella, Talia, Sean, Babs, Kelli, Rick, Dharrsheena, Heather, Gina and many, many more!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Awesome microfiction!!! Agree with Cathy!!! You nailed the dialog!!!💕❤️

  • Zeeshan May10 months ago

    Really i loved reading your content!! Nice https://vocal.media/authors/zeeshan-may

  • Cendrine Marrouat12 months ago

    Nice one, Loryne!

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Good one. I like the dialogue. And no, I've never been. My only slotting was done at Woodbine and Rama.

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    And I second Mike's suggestion!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    So true! Pam and I went there once - for a wedding. I made it through the entire trip without dropping a single coin. I did once win $80 on a quarter at a gas station in Winnemucca, though! lol

  • Excellent, nearly there , you should index these in an anthology post and then self publish them

  • Ahna Lewis12 months ago

    Haha, I love the way you told this through dialogue! I could really picture these characters.

  • Lol, that's a big nope for me. I get addicted to stuff easily so I'd rather stay away from things that can cause addiction. Loved your story!

  • Never did understand the lure of slot machines. I mean, yeah, I could stand & play Pachinko for hours. But we owned the game & it didn't cost me a penny.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.