Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Valentine's Day, Valentine's Day

A short story

By Cathy holmesPublished 5 months ago Updated about 14 hours ago 2 min read
24
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

For twelve straight nights I have relived that magic moment in my dreams. The moment when Joe, on bended knee, presented me with a ring, and asked me to be his bride. For twelve straight mornings I have awoken to the sight of the beautiful rock on my finger, a new one each time.

For twelve straight days, Joe has looked at me like I’ve lost my mind each time I asked him why my ring is different every morning.

“Are we doing this again, Anna?” He groans. “I never gave you a ring. I’ve told you that a dozen times. You’re just dreaming.”

“What are you talking about?” I scream back at him, as I raise my hand to show him the ring on my finger; just as I did yesterday, and the day before, and the day before that.

“I’m wide awake, I am standing in the kitchen with you, Joe. Obviously, I’m not dreaming.”

“You’re crazy Anna,” Joe replies with a shake of his head and an annoying eye roll before turning away to make himself a coffee.

I can’t help but wonder if he’s gaslighting me, but I can’t think of a reason he would. We didn’t have a fight. We just recently got engaged, committing to spend the rest of our lives together. Why would he be attempting to make me believe I’m crazy? It just doesn’t make sense.

I guess these things never do, but I can't think of any logical explanation for his behavior. It’s not like my family has any money. If it were another woman, why would he have proposed to me? I feel like I don’t know anything about him anymore. It doesn’t make sense. It hurts like hell, and it terrifies me.

As I stand watching Joe make his coffee, I can't help but notice his dark curls hugging the back of his neck, and the beads of sweat glimmering on his bare back in the morning sunlight. I feel the need to be close to him. I need to feel his arms around me and to have him to tell me everything will be okay. I move to him and place my hands on his back in a warm caress.

He turns toward me and smiles. I see his face. It’s covered in blood.

I am jolted upright into a sitting position on the bed. My heart is pounding, I can’t catch my breath. I notice the empty space on our bed, on Joe’s side of our bed, and I start to cry. Just like I did yesterday, and the day before that, and the day before that.

It was all a dream. I know that now.

I lift my left hand, as I watch my tears fall onto the ring I’m still wearing; the ring he gave me on Valentine’s Day. I remember the moment, that incredible moment when Joe, on bended knee, presented me with that ring, and asked me to be his bride.

I remember how excited I was, how happy I was. I remember how happy we both were on the drive to the restaurant that night, and how we were already planning our future together.

Then I remember the truck, and I wonder how much longer I will be forced to keep reliving this horrendous nightmare.

Short StoryMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
24

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 4 months ago

    This is so well written but utterly heartbreaking!

  • Cathy, this is masterfully written, but so heartbreaking. Beautiful but heartbreaking.

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    heartbreaking wonderful!!

  • Real Poetic5 months ago

    This is heartbreaking!!! I thought she was being gaslit at first and then when I realized he was dead….. wow. Amazing, sad story.

  • sleepy drafts5 months ago

    oh my LANTA this was amazing. I was completely enthralled - and the twist at the end! You crafted this beautifully - the experience of reading this was dizzying and then heartbreaking. Incredible. 💗

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Lord that was some amazing storytelling! Cathy you flame-broiled this prompt! Stunning work my friend!

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    Oh, ouch! 😣

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    The little details you've included inthis story really bring it to life. I love the way you tied it to "Groundhog Day." That was the first thought I had for this challenge. Heartbreaking and beautifully told!

  • This was one of your best Cathy! You did such a great job with the challenge

  • ROCK 5 months ago

    Howdy from an old fan; it takes a LOT to get my attention these days even from my faves! Reading your entry and ironic take makes me wonder if Hallmark made for TV films is on your tail:) Good stuff, Cathy!

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    Oooo. I was wondering where you were going and then...Ooof. What an ending!

  • Poor Anna 🥺🥺 She needs to see a therapist. Gosh I cannot imagine her living with this recurring nightmare for two years now. Loved your take on this challenge!

  • Mark Gagnon5 months ago

    Cathy, you took this story to a place I wasn't expecting. Well done!

  • J. S. Wade5 months ago

    Great story Cathy. Brutal but great!! 🥰

  • Caroline Craven5 months ago

    Oh Jesus. I didn't see that ending coming at all. Goodness that was sad and a brilliant take on the competition.

  • Julie Buchy5 months ago

    😲 well done!

  • Painfully compelling, Cathy. The nightmare version of "Groundhog Day".

  • Stephanie Hoogstad5 months ago

    So tragic! What a heartfelt and heart-wrenching tale. A very interesting take on the prompt as well.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    This is so sad, and we all know that moment of waking.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.