Fiction logo

Unidentified Men

A Microfiction Journal Entry

By Real PoeticPublished 5 months ago 2 min read
13
Pixlr created image

My brother was smoking salmon fillets on the grill out in the front yard while the rest of us were sitting on lawn chairs and laughing. I'm not quite sure why there was so much laughter because not much was being said. At least not anything I could remember. I just know we were all having a great time. That's why I'm surprised that I didn't realize it was a dream right then. Everything was more real than reality: the grass, the trees swaying from the wind, and the aroma from the food.

I was happier than I had been since my ex-boyfriend and I had parted ways for bringing out the worst side of one another. There was nothing that occurred that would've warned me for what was about to happen; not even my intuition.

The sky was crystal blue, and there were no clouds. My aunt blew her cigarette smoke in the air, and my uncles smoked their cigars. I lied there on the chair and watched their exhales transform into unknown creations. As I lied the back of my chair down, I put my arms behind my head to embrace the relaxation. That's when clouds rolled in and thunder followed. The atmosphere went from pleasant to sinister when a helicopter hovered over; it came out of nowhere.

My family put out their smokes and quickly raised from their seats to approach the two men that jumped out of the aircraft. Uncle Philip said sternly, “What the hell is going on?”

The one with the white hair forced his way through my protectors and headed straight towards me without uttering a word. I was still lying down in shock. I wasn’t able to move my body at all, although I really wanted to run. They picked me up, planted me on the ground, and rushed me over to the helicopter shoulder to shoulder with me squished in the middle.

I was shoved onboard, and they came behind me. As the one with the white hair climbed aboard, I noticed that he had strange eyes. They blinked left to right instead of up and down at first. He shook his head, and then his eyes looked like marbles before turning into a human-like appearance. I was creeped out, but I didn't scream.

The other one squeezed by and sat down before asking, "Do you know why we're here?" I calmy shook my head no. The alien man then leaned in closer and said, "Unpublish every piece of work, or we'll be back."

This is where I woke up... Left to ponder what that dream meant and whether or not it was even a dream at all, but I still didn't let it stop me from writing about it.

Sci FiMicrofiction
13

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write what I want, whenever I want.

Thanks for reading!

-R.P. ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    I love lucid dreaming story. 🥰

  • "and rushed me over to the helicopter shoulder to shoulder with me squished in the middle." I imagined that scenario and it made me laugh soooo much! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 What a dream this was! I loved the irony of writing about them asking to unpublish every single piece! Loved your story!

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Fabulous work RP!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Oh wow! that was really good. I wonder what's gonna happen when they come back. This was incredibly creative. Well done.

  • Don't unpublish anything, see if they come back & immediately ask, "Why?" I'm guessing we'd all like to know.

  • Tressa Rose5 months ago

    I loved this so much!

  • sleepy drafts5 months ago

    This is awesome! Your descriptions are so beautiful. And the reasoning behind the men is so sinister! It feels like a great representation of how imposter syndrome feels. Thank you for writing this - what a great piece. 💗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.