Fiction logo

To the heavens above

Then right back down to earth

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 21 days ago Updated 21 days ago 2 min read
7
Apollo 11 Saturn V space vehicle climbing to orbit: NASA

Inhaling deeply, filling my lungs, I am rigid. Without thinking, I hold my breath.

T-000:00:58 Armstrong: PAD Comm, going Off.

Feeling my chest heave, I am otherwise conscious only of the sights and sounds in the jam-packed space within the command module.

T-000:00:57 Collins: And my PAD Comm, going off. Sure have been a nice smooth countdown, Skip.

The muscles of my chest cramp tight around me, strangling me from within.

T-000:00:53 STC: Ah, thank you babe.

Thump, thump, thump the pulse hammers in my head like a blacksmith's anvil.

T-000:00:52 STC: LMP, VHF increase a little bit.

My vision starts to blur, sweat forming on my forehead

T-000:00:46 Collins: LMP, copy.

At last, I release the breath, my senses returning a little.

T-000:00:44 Speaker: Roger, (we're on the dial?).

Getting my breathing under control, the feeling returns to my hands and fingers as I try to follow the procedure unfolding before me.

T-000:00:43 STC: Okay. And CDR, GDC Align.

The planned sequence of events unravels as if I am in some strange dream.

T-000:00:41 Armstrong: Roger.

Hearing his voice, I feel as if I am one with the Mission Commander.

T-000:0034: Speaker: S-I pre-press.

Almost there, exchanging glances.

T-000:00:33 Speaker: Roger.

This is it. 'Moment of truth' doesn't quite cut it.

T-000:00:30 Speaker: 30 seconds.

30 seconds? Did he say 30 seconds?

T-000:00:29 Speaker: MC, we're [garble].

The voice sounds a million miles away, garbling its nonsense into my ears. I try not to let it distract me.

T-000:00:27 Speaker: GDC is good. Twenty seconds and counting.

Twenty seconds, can it really be that close? Time seems to stand still and I feel as if I am drifting outside of the module looking in, seeing three anxious faces looking out. I wonder what the next 20 seconds will bring... and then, it is no longer 20 seconds but...

T-000:00:15 Speaker: 15.

No turning back. We are heading for the momentous event, a building up of a cataclysmic power that will force the launch vehicle up, up, up.

T-000:00:12 Speaker: GRR.

Last seconds before they light the lamp.

T-000:00:11 Speaker: Roger, GRR. T minus 15 seconds, guidance is internal...Twelve, 11, 10, 9, ignition sequence starts...

My body is shaking violently with the shuddering of the engines. I feel like the whole thing will be rent apart any moment. I find it hard to see, hard to feel anything else, so hard to think what’s next.

T-000:00:10 Speaker: 10, 9, 8, 7...

Magic numbers, final numbers.

T-000:00:06 Speaker: 6, 5, 4... 3... 2, 1, zero, all engine running...

Another captive breath, dizziness, darkness, light, heat, all in one second.

LIFT-OFF! We have a lift-off, 32 minutes past the hour. Lift-off on Apollo 11.

I release the breath with a hiss and concentrate until, glancing up at the mantlepiece, I realize to my horror...

"Shit!" I shout at the clock. It's gone 2.30pm! I'd better get back to school before someone misses me.

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

Breakout text is taken verbatim from lift-off scripts published by NASA. All other narrative is entirely made up. I was nine years old on July 16, 1969, and can assure readers I was at school at 2:32 pm (UTC+1) or 9:32 am EDT. I do not recall watching the Apollo 11 lift-off but did watch the first steps taken by Armstrong and Aldrin as Collins kept vigil above.

Thanks for reading

PsychologicalHistoricalAdventure
7

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham18 days ago

    So that is what a countdown would feel like. I just turned five years old in July 1969. I do remember that event some ways.

  • Shirley Belk19 days ago

    I don't remember that event, but obviously you were enthralled by it and that makes me smile. I do remember the moon landing and when the Challenger exploded. Great take on the writing challenge.

  • Oh wow, you're the same age as my dad! I loved your brilliant take on this challenge. It was very gripping and fast-paced!

  • Exciting and well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.