Fiction logo

Three Wishes

Eclipsing the edge of forever.

By Lamar WigginsPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
25
Three Wishes
Photo by Zac Durant on Unsplash

Miracle is a seven-letter word. Improbable events, yet they happen. No one can explain them...

The bitterness of winter nips at my bare hands. Balling them up or stuffing them in my pockets have no warming effect.

My toes are like ice cubes attached to anvils trudging through the deepening snow. Frostbite creeps, searching for unprepared victims.

I occasionally look back through the heavy snowfall toward obscured, flashing hazards on a car that gave up. I don't know where I'm going, I'm just going. I must.

Morbid thoughts of dying alone out here, invade my skull. They crisscross and fiercely collide, destroying barriers that restrain anger.

I wish I had a signal. I wish I had a backup plan. I wish I was a better father.

None of these wishes can help; it's more about the cries of a pleading soul facing death head on. Thoughts alone, can't save me.

Stamina wanes, mobility shuts down. I collapse onto my back, like being struck by the solidifying effects of Medusa's deadly glance. Dying right now would be much easier...

A Labrador interrupts my diminishing thoughts by licking the mounting flakes off my face. He begins to bark profusely until his owner investigates. Images and voices I can’t discern, drag me to safety...

The power of scent coupled with a canines' curiosity, prevents a six-foot journey underground. My second chance to right the wrongs.

Was this a fortuitous occurrence of immaculate timing, or an angelic miracle?

I wish I knew the answer.

By Hans Isaacson on Unsplash

Microfiction
25

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 days ago

    Wow Lamar... I must have been living under a rock to have missed this story!! It's a serious mood and I love it!! Great work my friend!!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    How did I miss this one. I love the feel you presented in this. I was there in the story. This should have been at minimum a Top Story.

  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    Such a fantastic micro, Lamar! I felt the bitter cold through every word, and love that the ending was happy! :) Great entry!

  • Ashley Shiflett4 months ago

    Holy Moly! Very well done!

  • The Dani Writer4 months ago

    Masterfully written!

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    This is excellent. The eratic thoughts, the descriptions, the happy ending. Loved it.

  • Hayley Matto4 months ago

    "...prevents a six-foot journey underground. My second chance to right the wrongs." Loved this line! This piece also would make a badass first scene to a movie, a story waiting to be revealed vibes. Or as a prologue in a novel! Great work!!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    "Ice cubes attached to anvils" - I love that bit!

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    You are very gifted, every word seems meticulously written but something tells me your words flow from a deeper self. I want this to go on and on, to know the young man whose character was unfolding. Novel?

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    This was so wonderfully done! Suspenseful all the way through and still heart-warming by the end. Beautiful!

  • Yayyyyy, well done doggie!! Such a good boy! Loved your wonderful story!

  • The fourth wish is the most telling of all. Nicely done, Lamar.

  • Mark Gagnon4 months ago

    So, explain to me why people like the snow and cold. Saved by the dog, not the bell. Well done Lamar!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    This story is a WINNER! So touching what a dying father thinks.

  • This one packs a powerful punch for microfiction, Lamar. Fantastic!

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    Loved your Microfiction, Lamar

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Fantastic microfiction story!!! Loved the ending!!!♥️♥️💕

  • A. Lenae4 months ago

    Ooh, so visceral and powerful. I love that the wintery flurry around the narrator is reflected in his thoughts and concerns. Your descriptions are just so satisfying and impactful, and the ending is lovely. Beautiful job.

  • Randy Baker4 months ago

    Beautiful language and a compelling story. I felt this one in my gut.

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    Beautifully executed. You are so creative!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Wonderfully written. I love the ending. Well done, my friend..

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.