Fiction logo

The Final Minute

Story 9/40 in The Forty Weeks Challenge

By D. D. LeePublished 15 days ago Updated about 16 hours ago 1 min read
5
The Final Minute
Photo by Dicky Jiang on Unsplash

60

.

.

.

50

.

.

.

40

.

.

.

30

.

.

.

20

.

.

.

10

There’s no stopping what’s to come. No hope to cling to, nor prayer to be answered, the life we’ve known will soon cease to exist. There’s no telling if we’ll survive and if those that do will be able to endure.

I can’t speak any more of a bleak future, coming from a dismantled past. All that is left to do is wait like the rest of the world for our fate that lies on the other side of the fire.

.

.

.

1...

+++++++++REMARKS++++++++++

This story was written as entry to the “Just a Minute” challenge that I decided not to submit. I didn’t want to increase the word count so it didn’t meet the criteria. It was posted today because of issues that I am/was having with my laptop and I didn’t have any other stories in the drafts.

+++++++NEXT STORY++++++++

+++++PREVIOUS STORY++++++

Microfiction
5

About the Creator

D. D. Lee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.14 days ago

    The simplicity of this is fantastic!

  • Caroline Craven14 days ago

    I’d love to know what happens after the fire. You hooked me in.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.