Fiction logo

The Cure from the Stars

Government labs are never in cities, never on paved roads with easy access.

By Kelley SteadPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Micro Heist Challenge
18

The headlights of my Jeep are all that's keeping me level. Without them, I am lost in the dark. My heart is a separate entity now, a vibrating animal in my chest.

To my right, Garcia is pressed up against the car door, his hand tightening around the seatbelt. His face is pale white. I wonder if mine is the same.

On the back seat is a cloth bag and I am aware of its presence at all times, even as I pull the steering wheel back and forth, struggling to keep the Jeep on the road. Government labs are never in cities, never on paved roads with easy access. We're out of the lab, but not out of the woods. The trees close in around me, threatening to swallow the road whole.

I think about Maria in her hospital bed, how I haven't visited in weeks. The plan has consumed me, taken everything I have. Weeks of planning and scheming. Convincing Garcia. Making certain the lab tests were accurate.

The creature moans from the bag. It sounds like a child- like my Maria, only eight years old.

Waiting for me, for what I've stolen.

The cure from the stars.

Short StorySci FiMicrofiction
18

About the Creator

Kelley Stead

Grew up on a steady diet of Tom Robbins and Stephen King.

Spinning tales in the quiet moments between motherhood and building a business.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Raymond G. Taylor10 months ago

    Thought provoking and original. Well done and congratulations on your win

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    This is fascinating. It’s a satisfying micro, but Would also love to read more! Congrats! 💖

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Oh, this is great. Congrats!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Oh, congrats on placing Kelley! Well deserved! Loved this!

  • Joe Patterson11 months ago

    Just liked and subscribed, Stephen King is one of my biggest writing influences as well.

  • Kimmy11 months ago

    I love this!! Great Job! I enjoyed the alien ride in this story:)

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Had read this and forgot to come and show it some love. It is a seriously great bit of storytelling, Kelley! Bravo!

  • Alina Z11 months ago

    Nice ending, it's where another story begins.

  • Whoaaa, I certainly did not see that coming! Would there be a part 2 to this? I loved it so much!

  • I loved the part about government labs never being on paved roads fantastic writing

  • Aphotic11 months ago

    Ooh, cool idea! Love this take on the prompt. Great stuff!

  • Whoa this was riveting! Like a scene from a movie. You use such descriptive language, I could feel myself there. Incredible!

  • Misty Rae11 months ago

    Hmmmm, I like. It leaves me wanting more. 200 words is just not fair! Well done. ;)

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    Nicely done Kelley, it makes me want the next paragraph...

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    "The cure from the stars" Excellent read, Kelley. I would love to borrow that cure when you're done.

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Very intriguing story! I love the alien take so much :)

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Move over Dean Koontz 😎😜

  • Kim Loostrom11 months ago

    Oooooo I like this! Great short story and I love a good alien plot!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.