Fiction logo

The Bedwarmers

A micro-fiction story: apocalyptic horror

By J. R. LowePublished about a year ago 1 min read
13
Photo by Ellie Toia: https://www.pexels.com/photo/white-mattresses-on-black-metal-bed-frame-near-window-7739944/

With each sunrise, another pillow is found cold. We have too many beds and not enough survivors.

Housework earns my place here and when another bed is found empty, it’s my job to clean and remake it, not that any are ever filled again. This one is a single, equipped with a tattered teddy and spaceship-patterned sheets.

His name was Ollie.

My eyes dampen as I tug the linen away. I make the bed with fresh sheets and as I grieve in silence, I can’t help but wonder, who will make mine when I’m gone?

Sci FiHorror
13

About the Creator

J. R. Lowe

By day, I'm a PhD student, by night.... I'm still a PhD student, but sometimes I procrastinate by writing on Vocal. Based in Australia.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Emotional & horrific!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    hmm. You got me wondering what's going on here. Great story.

  • Ash Taylorabout a year ago

    Hello fellow aussie! Loving this entry - much like Caroline I have so many questions!

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    😭😭😭 Excellent microfiction.. so many questions!. Great idea for a challenge too. 👍

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    Every damn word is working its buttocks off here ❤

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Thank you for inspiring this challenge 😊

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    ayayay thisis great! so much story and emotion in so few words! well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.