Fiction logo

Raining

Sometimes you just want a cigarette.

By Ash TaylorPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Raining
Photo by Ian Talmacs on Unsplash

It was bloody raining. It dripped from the gutters and made a din on the rusty tin roof, the rata tat tat of a staccato tattoo. Goddamn yard was a swimming pool.

I shoved another cigarette in my mouth and let it dangle as I hunted for a lighter, one that was nowhere to be found.

“Oi Shazza, you seen m’light?”

“Outside!”

I stuck my head out the door, immediately drenched by God’s piss. There it was, taunting me in the rain. I struck it in the dry house, hoping the air was like tinder. Not a spark.

Fuck me.

Short StorySatireHumor
2

About the Creator

Ash Taylor

Lover of fantasy and all things whimsical. Currently studying Writing and Publishing at UNE in Armidale, Australia. Living on Anaiwan land.

he/him

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Love the colloquialisms in your piece!

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    I really appreciate this, even as a nonsmoker... 🤔

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.