Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Phantom Limb

Reaching out to you.

By Lamar WigginsPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - March 2024
52
Phantom Limb
Photo by valentin ciccarone on Unsplash

Written for the R.M. Stockton's Unofficial March "Madness" Prompt. Details below.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

If you had the courage to taste the mind of an unstable individual, you will find that it sits comfortably on the bitter side of flavor…

The masses wake up every day and follow routines that feed their illusion of stability. I never sleep, I’m too busy resurfacing in your lives, wondering why the scabs on your soul haven't dissipated. They serve as a reminder that time does not heal all wounds, it festers some, coaxing you ever so closely to that weakened state where true colors unleash torrential bouts of trauma. I think you unconsciously find happiness in suffering, which is the foundation of my existence.

I'm at your service, pushing thumbtacks deeper than they are designed to go. But I cannot take credit for actions caused by capricious temperaments, I merely suggest them. Your weakness is my calling card and I willfully oblige.

Inevitable consequences bore me. What I care about is driving you mad! Driving you to the point of negative expression. As quickly as I come, I leave you to deal with the aftermath of your own doing until I grab hold of you again, a welcoming reunion of sorts.

Gullible and easy to manipulate. This is how I describe your condition. It's a shame I need you to survive. If I could isolate and harness my power, striking at will, the world would transition to the darkest shade of hate.

Some of you make my job too easy. I like a challenge. I like to pester you, egging you on while waiting for the destructive avalanche to give way, rapidly blanketing everything around you as it runs its course.

It's the ones who avoid me at all costs that I haven't quite transfused my talents upon. Though your method of deterrence is not foolproof, it remains reinforced with something you call self-control. One day, this barricade will crumble, and I'll be waiting to assist you. I'm good at waiting...

If you haven’t yet figured out who I am, the mirror is a fine place to start. I am the mind's phantom limb. I am the hair-trigger to your internal anguish. I am unabated. I steer you into deception, revenge and uncensored reactions. I seek to ruin you. All it takes is one person to spread me to others, causing a lasting domino effect... I am infectious. I am the madness you call anger. Stay far away from me if you can.

Then again... I’m the only one who is willing to help you decide what to do with me.

Encore:

Moonlight Sonata by Beethoven, reimagined. Simmering Madness is demonstrated in this 1:00 clip. Perhaps inspired by the thought of slowly going deaf.

PsychologicalMicrofictionHorrorCONTENT WARNING
52

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (39)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butler21 days ago

    Well-wrought! Wrath, like all deadly sins, has limited applications, usually at a cost greater than the return. It makes it harder to control the self, easier for unscrupulous selves to control the masses. Irony: where indignation is incentivized according to an affront to dignity, indignity usually results. A hard lesson indeed!

  • Mika Oka27 days ago

    Captivating work, Lamar

  • That is a gripping tale, Lamar. FAN-FREAKING-TASTIC! This is a warning to all of us! I am sorry it took me so long to read this, but I got buried in work at the office, so I've been burning the midnight oil. I am so pleased to see this got at least some of the recognition it deserves by being selected as a Top Story! So deserving! The psychological terror of this piece is intense, and you really ratcheted it up with brilliant storytelling! Masterful, my friend!

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Dripping intensity here, Lamar. "I seek to ruin you." Nice!

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    Well done with this one, Lamar!

  • Grz Colm2 months ago

    Whoa - intense and very well-written Lamar. Excellent! 😊👏

  • Ameer Bibi2 months ago

    Congratulations for top story yeah that's right there is a peace also behinds the suffering

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    The mirror! “I am the mind’s phantom limb.” Incredible. Congrats on TS and the Leaderboard!

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Congratulations on the Leaderboard win!!!🥰🥰🥰

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    This is BRILLIANT, if there was a higher accolade than top story this should get it!

  • Mattie :)2 months ago

    Hey Lamar. Hope you're doing well, friend. I'm alright. Dealing with some health issues :)

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • Mario Taylor 2 months ago

    This is a real mental problem.

  • Abdul Qayyum2 months ago

    This was really well done The imagery is quite vivid https://vocal.media/fiction/the-enchanted-forest-s-echoes

  • Donna Fox (HKB)2 months ago

    Lamar, this was such a mood. I love the darkness you've inputed here and just your overall narrative voice! Simply breath taking as it speaks to that dark angry part of my soul!! Amazing work my friend and congrats on Top Story!! 🎉

  • JBaz2 months ago

    Lamar, you truly outdid yourself. I have read this a few times trying to pinpoint my feelings and interpretation of this beautiful piece. Angst and regret are the two words that keep popping up. Congratulations on a very well deserved Top Story

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    I felt anger's power in this piece, Lamar. This was really well done.

  • Congratulations Lamar. This is incredible

  • Tom Baker2 months ago

    Congratulations! Pretty raw. I like it.

  • Kodah2 months ago

    Congrats on top story!! 💌💌

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    L-bud ~ Get some Meat on them Bones ~ A sure Cure-all J-bud

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    This personification of anger is so well done! And the opening paragraph was exquisitely done! Great piece, Lamar!

  • Raymond G. Taylor2 months ago

    Gripping and powerful Lamar. Congrats on the TS

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.