Fiction logo

Our Last Ride

Misplaced, but not Replaced

By Dana CrandellPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 2 min read
14
Our Last Ride
Photo by Anna Dudkova on Unsplash

How could this happen? How can so much joy and fulfillment just end? Was I always destined to spend my last days alone, rotting, drowning in memories of laughter, love and exuberance? There has to be more than this. Doesn't there?

How I long to fly again! To feel the air rushing by, then slowing. To land and bound again and again, until the momentum is gone. To know you'll be chasing, ready to joyfully retrieve me and run, headlong, back to our human. Repeating the trip time and time again until, exhausted at last, you carry me to the car and we return home to rest.

I always knew we'd return to the “park” and I so enjoyed the unbridled joy in your leaps and wags at the very mention of that word. Each time, you'd rush to where you'd left me in our cozy bed and bound to the door. Every evening, you'd curl yourself protectively around me as you drifted off to sleep. We brought each other so much joy, and our human shared in it. Life was so good, and I'm not ready to believe it's over.

You searched so diligently that fateful afternoon, but the dampness all around had masked my scent and I was buried so deeply underneath the fallen leaves – oh, how it hurt to hear you called away. I heard the regret in his voice, but the overtone of resignation cut so deeply! The sound of our car door closing in the distance drove home the finality of the moment.

In the days that followed, I heard you often, for a while. Running, panting, coming so close, only to retrieve my replacement. I could feel your longing for me still, though you had accepted the newcomer as a consolation gift.

Gradually, I heard you less often, and then you were gone. And here I am, hopelessly lost and alone. Days come and the night replaces them. Another day comes, followed by another relentless night. I am left without purpose and no sense of how long, only the pain and despair of loss. Though I am actually the one lost.

I don't understand the nuances of such things. I only know I miss you and our human, too, although I confess to feeling some resentment toward him. It seems unjust that I could be so easily dismissed. Wasn't I a companion, too?

I hear you now! There's less vigor in your step, but it's you, and you're so close! Snuffling. Fervently, faithfully searching. But our human is here, too, insisting it's time to go. I hear the surprise in his voice as you proudly walk out with me.

I feel the raggedness of your breath during the slow walk to the car. I hear the soft whine as he lifts you into the vehicle. His quiet sob. I don't know how, but I know this is our last ride.

But we'll go there together. And that's all that matters.

LovefamilyCONTENT WARNING
14

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Eloquently written and the heartbreaking last ride. Bravo!!! 💕❤️

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    Well that was beautifully heartbreaking... 😢 I'm at a loss of words... you portrayed this so well! I'm just sitting here crying, in awe of the beautiful story you have here. Amazing work my friend!!

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    “Every evening, you'd curl yourself protectively around me as you drifted off to sleep” is such a wonderful image😊 This is wonderfully written, and an original take on the challenge! Nicely done.

  • Heartbreaking. :(( You sure know how to break a guy! Beautiful writing.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Ah fuck. See also my previous comment about having a sadness in my life currently. I knew I shouldnt have read this as soon as I saw the picture, and I confess to a bit of skim reading. But I should have skimmed the end better. Silly, silly girl. (Also, I know I was warned, this is wholly on me!)

  • Dana you broke my heart 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

  • Though it may be soon over, at least we can say our time together was a ball.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    That was so cute and fun, and then so heartbreaking. Really well done.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Why do you break our hearts like this though

  • Mother Combs3 months ago

    💙

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    That was such a happy ending! I was getting so sad for the poor lost toy, but then joy :) You really crafted a wonderful atmosphere of shattering hopelessness with this one, Dana. Loved every second of reading it :)

  • You're killing me, Smalls

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Great entry to the challenge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.