Fiction logo

On My Way to Memphis

A Short Story

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 18 days ago 2 min read
2
On My Way to Memphis
Photo by pawel szvmanski on Unsplash

On my way to Memphis, I had to stop in Tupelo, in Mississippi, less than 120 miles (193 kilometres) from my destination and the King. He was born in Tupelo, so I decided to start there, in case I could see him when he was a kid. Little Elvis sounded strange and I could not even imagine what he looked like. I looked at a few pictures, but I was sure that he would look better, alive.

I could not find him in Tupelo. The timing was off by too many parameters. I had to focus on Memphis and the King all grown up and almost as famous as Jesus. (By the way, the first individual to be more famous than Jesus was Charlie Chaplin. Michael Jackson was the third.) I was humming, Back to Memphis by Chuck Berry when I appeared there.

I arrived before his Graceland period, too sure I will be able to see him. The timing was off again. My ability to reach him anywhere was extremely limited. I had three trials, like three wishes, except that there was no genie helping me. I had one last chance during the height of his fame. He was in Graceland. Alleluia!

Third time's a Charm did not play here at all; well, almost all, since there is no all, or Whole, for that matter, but hole after hole almost ad infinitum. Even almost infinity is peculiar to grasp. Some things can only be used in the worlds of math; a noble field in the pursuit of reality. How is your dream going? Mine is being destroyed by insanity; ignorant and mean. Even scorpions are blind. I digressed too much. Elvis Presley in the flesh!

So, I thought. I do not believe in anything, not even taxes. Death is inescapable. What a cute Cosmos! But Nature takes the cake. So, I assumed per the data that I received from the future about the past. The future must have erred, as the past was the past. Elvis opened the door and I told him that even in 2024, and beyond, he is remembered and loved. I did not explain and disappeared.

Elementary particles in truth

Lack most of the tall story of stories

Velocity like a fountain of youth

Instills the semblance of territories

Spread across endless Elvis waves in sooth

-----

Dedicated to Elvis Presley.

HistoricalMicrofiction
2

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.