Fiction logo

Lynx Crossing

An unexpected meaningful encounter

By Lana V LynxPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
8

On a cold winter day, I'm driving along a northern rural road. In an AWD mode, I proceed cautiously as the road has not been entirely cleared after an earlier blizzard. Very few cars venture out and no one is tailing me, so I'm driving at 45 mph on a 55 road.

Suddenly, I see a group of animals ahead. I am alone, have about two more hours of driving, and suspect I'm starting to imagine things. I blink rapidly several times, but the animals are getting closer. They are standing and sitting on the road, without moving. Waiting for someone?

I slow down to 20 mph. They are not blocking my side of the road, but with wild animals you never know where and how suddenly they'd move. Wait a second, are they lynx? I've heard of the Canadian lynx in these lands, but never saw them in person.

A popular Russian superstition holds that if a black cat crosses your path, you should turn around or take a detour. Otherwise, you'll have bad luck. Even though these cats are not black, I stop. We stare at each other.

A mama lynx with two kittens comes out of the woods to join the group. As they all cross the road, I swear one of them looked back and smiled at me. I have finally had a real-life encounter with my totem animal who years ago in a dream graciously allowed me to use her name for my writing pseudonym.

MysteryMicrofictionFableAdventure
8

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    Magical.

  • Joe O’Connor4 months ago

    This would be a strange but wonderful encounter, especially with the link to your pen name! “Even though these cats are not black, I stop. We stare at each other.” is my favourite line😊

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Oh wow. What a great story, and a great pic too.

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    This really happened? That's wonderful! I have one in my drafts about a snow leopard, but haven't been able to make it sing. In any case, I don't think I could top this.

  • Fascinating!

  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    Was this a real event? I love cats, domestic, wild, #bigcats. The serval I saw in Tanzania is in my abecedarian poem. I LOVE that photo!! 💕❤️

  • Awww, this was so heartwarming! Loved your story!

  • Raymond G. Taylor4 months ago

    A truly magical story that brought a tear to my eye. Would that I had encountered a lynx. Thank you for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.