Fiction logo

In The Hands Of The Gods

Sky's the limit

By Shane DobbiePublished about a year ago 3 min read
10

“YOLO, YOLO, YOLO!” they kept saying.“Do it Dad. YOLO!”

“Stop shouting that! It’s a nonsense word, like Woke! What does it even mean?”

They rolled their eyes, as they do whenever they’re asked a question. “You. Only. Live. Once!”

“You only live once? That’s a really good reason not to throw myself out of a plane.”

My wife and friends had assumed my general miserable demeanour to be a sign of an impending mid-life crisis and suggested that, to fix it, I throw myself out of a plane. “Parachute optional,” my wife added, jokingly. Probably.

“It’ll be good for you,” she said later that evening. “Do something to make you feel alive.”

“I feel alive every morning I get up and go to work.”

“That’s not alive,” she said, “that’s just a life!”

So, here I am, in the hands of the gods, having just thrown myself out of a plane. Parachute attached,

The one thing that isn’t obvious when you see other people doing this is the noise. The sound of air rushing past you as you fall. This is what a car must feel like doing 80. Even with the fancy glasses and the helmet it’s so damn loud.

The helmet! I had to laugh. The illusion of safety. “So,” I said to the kid strapping me in, “if my parachute fails and I hit the ground at 100 miles an hour, I should try to land on my head?”

He didn’t get the joke. If there was one.

Now I’m flying through the air; if flying is the right word. Technically I’m just falling. It’s kinda nice though, once you get past being terrified beyond the ability for rational thought. The view from up here is stunning. I can see why birds like it. Nothing but blue sky above me, and miles of land stretching out below me in all directions.

It’s funny how the ground is so unthreatening when you’re standing on it. From up here though, it’s both terrifyingly far away and terrifyingly close at the same time.

I shake away these thoughts and accept that, for the next few minutes of my life, it’s just me and gravity. I stretch my hands out ahead of me like Superman. I smile. Thirty years fall away from me. I am a kid again, full of the joys of life. Am I happy? Is this what being ‘alive’ feels like? I flip over onto my back and float on the air. I can see the plane I jumped out of. I’m in the air…with a plane. What a wondrous experience this has become. I flip back over and go into a somersault before flattening back out and spinning through the air arms and legs akimbo. Every adult worry seems to have been blasted away by the rushing air. The weight that constantly presses down upon me on land has no power up here. I share a laugh of pure joy with the universe at large. It will live forever, spreading out in every direction, yet only ever be heard in my soul.

I am free!

I am alive!

The special watch they gave me sounds its alarm. Parachute time. I remember the drill and pull the cords. Even against the noise of the wind, I hear it flap and unfurl. My whole body jerks as my brakes are applied and my descent begins to slow.

I have survived.

Yet, I no longer feel alive.

I can see the car park as I drift downwards. Where my car sits. The car that I’m still paying off. I can see my family waiting in the landing field. They are waving a sign that I can’t read. It’s not that I don’t love my family; I do, but they’re a reminder of the world down there. A world where I am ‘a life’, not where I’m ‘alive’.

There’s a big target in the landing field. I can’t resist it; no man could. We love something to aim at, even with the most mundane tasks, but even scoring a bullseye, I feel no joy. Landing, touching back down to earth, brings forth tears. I see my family rushing over. I manage a smile as I unbuckle myself from the parachute. My family hug me and pester me with excitable questions. My wife wipes tears from my face. She assumes they are tears of joy. I don’t correct her.

YOLO

Short Story
10

About the Creator

Shane Dobbie

If writing is a performance art then I’m tap dancing in wellies.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    Won't catch me doing this, not in a hundred years! Colour me a coward 😁

  • Andrea Corwin about a year ago

    Yes! Funny how the ground is so non-threatening when standing on it, for sure. Was right with you in the glide to earth and I totally get the joke - I might have said that also...and been mildly annoyed when the person didn't “get it.” Nice story.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Great storytelling! Really enjoyed the premise. Nice work!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Spectacular story Shane. The two story’s, the internal within the action of the external is amazing. 🥰

  • Poignancy in a thrill-life-seeking moment. Do we ever again feel alive after the moment's gone? Do we forever find ourselves attempting to recover it? Or do we settle for the mundane & discover, even with our disappointment, what wonders lie there?

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    I love your writing style. I just discovered you through your Top Story for the broken mirror challenge, and now I’m seeing this looking at the next challenge. You have such unique interpretations of the prompts, and a strong voice in your writing.

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Great storytelling here! The blend of humor along with deep insights about life was really done.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Wow, you really hit on emotional feelings of what most of us feel. We all need that moment of freedom no matter how brief.

  • Bilal Haiderabout a year ago

    Nice story and humourous too at the end the tears scene . Well done man . I am also a writer and would appreciate if you check my stories and like . tysm

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This was great! Big difference between “a life” and “alive” for sure.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.