Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Hood Ornaments

Episode 71

By Majique MiMiPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
2

Tori was planning to see everyone in the courtroom. To her surprise none of her family and friends were there.

Was it because they thought they already knew the outcome?

They had no idea.

Of course she took a seat in the back. This way she would have an eagle eye’s view and still be able to monitor people who came and went. But most of the time her eyes were focused on the backs of Reginald Chambers and her father.

Who didn’t even realize she was there.

Initially.

The judge entered to courtroom and sat down on his bench. He systematically shuffled through the small stack of cases in front of him.

Arranging them to suit his preference. Then the cases were called one by one. Some of them went through a plethora of banter just to be postponed.

A few trial dates were set.

Butterflies began to swarm Tori’s body when she heard her father’s name called and saw him and his lawyer stand.

The judge read the charges and asked for Andre’s plea. She heard the courtroom door swing open, but she didn’t look back.

“I plead guilty your honor.”

“I don’t know how that’s possible since I did it!” Tori yelled as she stood up.

“Your honor, there is no way she could have done this, because I did it!” Tori recognized the voice, but she couldn’t believe what just transpired.

Neither could Dre whose frown of confusion bounced back and forth from his daughter to his best friend.

Samuel ‘Sticks’ Martin.

The incessant pounding of the gavel and the surprised hissing from the onlookers in the courtroom almost drowned the judge’s words.

Tori had to strain to hear.

Mistrial.

But that was all she needed to hear.

****

The ringer on Tori’s phone was extremely loud. Hurriedly, she slid her finger across the screen to answer.

“I know, I know. I’m running behind schedule. It’s just that…”

“…it’s just that you were up all night plottin on your paint.”

Tori erupted in laughter as she hastily covered her projects and closed up the house, “Preparing my palette, Silly. And yes, before you even fix your mouth to ask, I’m lockin up now.”

“Silly? Oh I’m, silly now, am I?”

“From what I’ve been told, you’ve always been silly”

“And from what I’ve been told, you’re always runnin late.”

“Balderdash.”

“Bald or what? All I know is you better balder your ash to the truck cuz some tourist musta fed the gulls again and…”

“I’m right behind you Daddy…”

Dre pretended not to hear her, “I dunno who this Daddy person is. I’m Silly.”

“Hang up the phone Dre.” She replied sarcastically as she got into the passenger side.

“I would, but I dunno how to work these things.” Dre handed the phone to Tori who had already put her own phone in her purse. He then mocked a frown.

“That’s the last time you gonna call me Dre, ya heard?”

“Aw lawd listen to you. Daddy why didn’t Sticks just borrow the jet from…”

“Tori, I got to start doin things under the radar now. One thing, I have learned is that the Watts family, from here on out, has to do better when making plans.”

Tori just shook her head.

Dre chuckled, “Look we don’t always think everything through.”

“Daddy hush and let’s just get Grandma and Dell home from the airport. You know it takes over an hour to get there.”

Dre let the word home resonate for a while. It was a word he never thought would be attainable.

“I really hope Mama feels at home.”

Tori gently squeezed her father’s hand.

“As long she notices the lavender sunrise Daddy, she will.”

Young AdultSeriesScriptCONTENT WARNINGfamily
2

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.