Fiction logo

Grubspute

The internal battle between logic and hunger whilst grocery shopping

By Karen CavePublished 7 months ago 1 min read
3
Grubspute
Photo by Bruno Kelzer on Unsplash

I feel that this is a thing that many of you will relate to. We all eat. We all shop for food. You know that feeling when you’re in the supermarket, and you’re absolutely starving, but you have a list and you are trying to be good?

When your stomach is growling and that huge meat-feast deep-pan stuffed-crust pizza on the aisle shelf is calling out to you?

When your logical brain is saying, Get the salad, Get the low-fat yogurts, be healthy, stick to the list – but your empty stomach is screaming and yearning for the hot, cheesy, calorific fantasy food of your dreams – THAT is grubspute.

When you are on a strict time-limit and you have to shop clean and quick, and you have to lose that extra bit of weight, but hunger hormones are controlling your sanity like a puppet-master, moving you towards that gigantic pizza, and to your horror, the pizza is moving, stretching, rolling off the shelf and climbing towards you, like a starfish, across the shop floor, doughy fingers reaching for your shopping basket, clambering up and over the metal edges, until it sits, as if satisfied, amongst the peppers and onions and bananas.

You experienced grubspute. And sadly, your brain lost.

Microfiction
3

About the Creator

Karen Cave

A mum, a friend to many and I love to explore dark themes and taboos in my

Hope you enjoy! I appreciate all likes, comments - and please share if you'd like more people to see my work.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor18 days ago

    Hi Kc ~ I'm so glad you liked my 'Marital~Bliss.' Equally happy that I've just discovered your gorgeous-eclectic presentations. *As I scroll through them I've subscribed with pleasure - So terrific and a rarity to see 'original' stories of late among the snippers with sharp scissors. I'm not a writer, just a retired legal professional; a simple storyteller to archive 'For the kids Someday.' Not into contests or self promotion. I just enjoy sketching and leading into my own stories that way. But, this one caught my eye since I've, coincidently, written 'The Llama & Koala' with a featured 'Shopping Cart.' I will be scrolling through your offerings. Jk.in.l.a. Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Thanks LC! I tried to make it really vivid. I don't know about you, but half the time I can't tell if what I've written is good :)

  • LC Minniti7 months ago

    I experience this almost daily! Nice rather graphic description of the pizza inching itself into the basket!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.