Fiction logo

Gentle Giant Gathers Gold Gestating Goose

From Friendly Fowl Farmers

By Thavien YliasterPublished 19 days ago 2 min read
4
Image by Prawny from Pixabay | https://pixabay.com/illustrations/vintage-arthur-rackham-victorian-1722786/ | https://pixabay.com/users/prawny-162579/

Their animals' calls awoke them early that morning. Before they could hear it, they felt them.

"Quit shakin' the bed, Gaspar!" She violently kicked him.

"I swears, is not's me's, Élodie!"

As the sound grew closer they rapidly grew more awake. Till, the quakes rocked them out of bed.

"Gander out the winda'," she instructed, "I'ms gettin' scerred."

"Alright, alright, I'll takes a peeks."

Opening the wooden folds, Gaspar was blinded momentarily, until something blocked the window. His mind comprehended it to be impossible, but he knew eventually acknowledged to staring at an eyeball the size of a dinner plate. Slamming the folds shut, pressing against the wall, he nearly shat himself. Then the roof lifted off their house, they nearly did.

Running to Élodie, Gaspar shoved her underneath the bed, having her hide within its frame. Turning to fetch his gun he was picked up.

"Apologies for intruding. I require your assistance."

"Huh? Yer' not gonna' eat me?"

"Heavens No! I'm a giant, not a cannibal. Got some tea?"

"Sure do. Élodie! Care to put a pot on?! Turns out our new guest's friendly!"

Sitting 'round a table outside, they offered cheese, salt, and bread, as customary for hospitality.

"What's yer' name?"

"I'm Zadkiel, Gaspar."

"Well, where ya' come from? I've never seen kind's like yous before."

"My people dwell in the clouds, Élodie. Long ago, our grandparents mated with yous humans. Since we's was too powerful the Lord flooded the Earth. During the rains some of us drowned, others swam, and a few made boats. When's we floated to the clouds, they's became our new homes."

"Well, what brings ya' down?"

"Some jackass' bean stalks broke through my fowl's basement. I needs ta' find mama goose. She's missed up topside, plus, I haven't had a good omelet in days."

Élodie and Gaspar turned to each other in shock. "Well, she's here, but she's also hatched some chicks fer' us."

"No worries, I'mma just retrieve her and be out'cher hair."

"Mind taking her mate with ya'?"

"Course, can't have her getting lonely now, can I?"

"Will you visit anytime soon," Gaspar asked.

"Only if you'll have me. I got's ta' teach yous my omelet recipe."

Thavien's Token: "This idea about "The Goose & the Golden Egg" was living rent free in my head for days. L.C. Schäfer's "Fucked Up Fairytales - An Unofficial Challenge" gave me the perfect opportunity to evict it.

Peace.

Plus, for some odd reason my hyerlink for "La Cupidité Aveugle, Mais La Prospérité Grimpe : Les revenus ne se limitent pas à l’or" won't embed properly.

ClassicalShort StoryMicrofictionFantasyFable
4

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran18 days ago

    Awww, he so friendly! I think I wouldn't mind being friends with him hehehehehe

  • Babs Iverson18 days ago

    Great twist to Jack and the bean stack story!!! Your fable should be Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Hannah Moore18 days ago

    See now if jack had just been civil....

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.