Fiction logo

Fearless Girl Lost to Charging Bull

For the Misplaced Challenge

By Lana V LynxPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - February 2024
31
Fearless Girl Lost to Charging Bull
Photo by Daniel Lloyd Blunk-Fernández on Unsplash

Remember how I was placed right in front of you at first? How mad you were about that, looking at me with your blood-shot eyes like you'd charge right at me if you could? You then thought and now I agree with you fully that me challenging you like that was actually changing your meaning?

At first, I didn't understand that. I was quite happy in my position, fearlessly standing right in the face of you, the symbol of the Wall Street menace, cruelty and disregard for women and girls, just as my creator meant it. The first two or three days after they installed me on March 7, 2017, you wouldn't even talk to me. You were either so offended or just didn't want to interfere with the people celebrating the International Women's Day and me as a symbol of commitment to gender equality.

But then, one quiet night when it was raining and there were no people around us, you asked me bluntly how long I was going to be standing there.

I was quite struck by that question. I was quite proud that even though my installation was temporary and I was supposed to be moved to some permanent exhibit or a museum after a month or so, I became very popular. Women and girls would take pictures with me, staring you down and making all sorts of faces, from silly to menacing, at you. As it turned out, this was exactly what drove you nuts.

Your creator threatened to sue the City of New York and to have you removed altogether if I were not moved away. That would have been such a loss for the city, as you'd become its beloved symbol! When I asked if you were upset because people liked me more than you, you said "no." It was not because I was more popular with the crowds, you said, but because the crowds were so enthusiastic about me challenging you.

And then you told me your story, that you had been created and gifted to the city as a symbol of American people's resilience and determination, not a symbol of the Bull of Wall Street. See, I didn't know that and it sounded fascinating to me. Especially the part where as you said people gradually forgot your original meaning. They began to associate you with the Wall Street arrogant bull and come to rub your parts for luck. So dumb!

Very soon, we became friends. You would tell me your inexhaustible stories of people coming to visit you over the years, and all sorts of little accidents like the brave ones who tried to mount you slipping and falling off. Or young couples coming to visit with you for luck on their wedding day and ending up with pictures of other people photo bombing them. Or how the entire area would be cleared for some world-famous celebrity or a foreign dignitary to take a picture with you. I would laugh at how annoyed you were with those types.

I didn't have too many stories to tell because I was just a little girl after all, and on public display only for a short period of time. Listening to all your stories made me appreciate your presence and friendship even more, and I became very fond of you. I also started to feel embarrassed when women and girls were taking pictures with me, gloating and making mean faces at you. You seemed to be bothered with them less and less, though, and it made me feel good.

But your creator wouldn't have me standing like that, facing you. The city had endless debates about what to do with me. In the end, they decided to move me to face the New York Stock Exchange building, to send the Wall Street types a message of gender equality.

I miss you so much! It's very lonely here and most of the times people can't even find me right away. To this day, I am still hoping that someone will come up with the brilliant idea of putting me right NEXT to you so that we could stare down the Wall Street together. But I may be lost to you forever...

Fearless Girl facing New York Stock Exchange

The same story, written up from the Bull's perspective, is here:

Short StoryLoveFantasyFable
31

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Thought I should make you aware. This fraudster rewrote your story using g Ai generated He did the same to me . Please report Check it out https://vocal.media/fiction/a-tale-of-friendship-and-change

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Lana, I am alarmed at this and wanted you to be aware: https://vocal.media/fiction/a-tale-of-friendship-and-change

  • olymoolla4 months ago

    Your story is amazing

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Oh, this gave me such chills and made me tear up. This is a truly beautiful, remarkable piece you've written. Congratulations on Top Story!!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Lana, you nailed it!!! Congratulations on your TS!

  • Syed Shahmeer4 months ago

    If you like this story you would also like "The Enchanted Hourglass" https://vocal.media/fiction/the-enchanted-hourglass-kp43n0dhs

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    I never knew about this other statue although I have visited the Bull. This was a great story. I want to see the fearless girl now.

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Loved it!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Kodah4 months ago

    💖This was so artistically beautiful Lana! Loved this!!💖

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Margaret Brennan4 months ago

    congratulations on TS. by the way, THIS IS BRILLIANT.... I love it.

  • PK Colleran4 months ago

    Love this story. Great idea for the challenge. I was lucky enough last time I was in NYC to see the little girl facing the bull.... before they moved her. They really do belong together. 💕 So glad this story is Top Story! Congratulations.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is fascinating. I never knew the true story of the bull, either. Thank you. Love this story. Congrats on the TS.

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Well done! I have always wondered about those statues, and you gave them an interesting story. Now, where is that bear? ;)

  • JBaz4 months ago

    This is such a unique perspective. Well written and the ending is great, I chuckled when they moved you and the statues view on it. Congratulations

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    So well put together and articulated. I especially like the hope expressed at the end. What that would represent would be perfect!

  • Technical SP4 months ago

    wow, Nice

  • Lindsay Sfara4 months ago

    I love this! And I had no idea they moved the bull after so long! I really enjoyed the insight and story behind this, nicely done!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Back to say well done and congrats!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I love this. I did not know that about the bull, it changes a lot, doesn't it.

  • That was such a sad ending! I loved that you went with this for the Misplaced challenge! Loved your story!

  • Great story based on reality. You did a great job with this.

  • This is so cool!!! Thanks for sharing this history!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.