Fiction logo

Fallie

1. a toddler learning to walk; 2. a shooting star.

By Andrei Z.Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
8
Photo by Michał Mancewicz on Unsplash

I am 10 months old, and I'm learning to walk. It's all about balance and taming gravity. When it comes to standing up straight, my tiny buttocks appear to be surprisingly heavy. One, two, three steps... plump! Mama smiles gently and calls me a fallie. She also says I'm a fast learner. She says many things, half of which I don't understand. Daddy is even worse. I complain the only way I can, but they still keep smiling at me with dark blue circles under their eyes. And I'm learning to be less whiny.

***

I am 14 years old, and I'm learning to walk all over again. I remember me shouting "Dad!", screeching tires, and a sharp jolt to the left and then forward. Dad saved a moose. A slender pine took the hit and probably saved us from flipping over and breaking our necks.

It's not about balance anymore. I can't feel my legs quite well; they don't belong with the rest of the body. But I will not fall: the walking rails won't let me, and my hands are strong. I'm no fallie. Doctors say I'm a fast learner. I know it; I've heard it before. They also say I've got my whole life ahead of me.

***

An hour past the sunset in the village. I'm shooting stars with my green laser pointer. Finally, a few of them give in and start falling into the void of the night. "Fallies," I whisper.

Make a wish.

Microfiction
8

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Overthinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Great job! Keep up the fantastic work

  • Angie Anh7 months ago

    savior of the Ea! Congratulations and best wishes

  • A good word, filled with hope, promise, & unnumbered wishes.

  • This was so full of the beauty of perseverance. I loved it so much!

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Oh this is a slice of perfection. The word, the lull of the vignette style, the tone, the theme of falling. Just brilliant.

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    This was so elegantly poignant.

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Love all the stories for all its definitions. Great.

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Great challenge word!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Omg! You sold this with such conviction I actually looked up what a fallie is as I’d never heard of it and then realised it was for the challenge! 🧐😅 This was mesmerising somehow.. something in its simplicity or the word choice, I’m not sure but it’s really evocative writing.. and I’m usually not big on many micros. Bravo!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.