Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Elf On The Run 2

Part 2 of a Christmas Microfiction

By Real PoeticPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 2 min read
11
Wonder AI

I’m heading into the woods behind my house to find a decent tree for my living room. I wasn’t in the mood for the holiday season this year, so I didn’t bother getting one until now.

It’s Christmas Day, so it’s really a last minute thing. I don’t know what made me want to participate this late, but it certainly wasn’t the sound of jingle bells. I just feel compelled to for some reason.

After walking about a mile deep into the forest, I start to see something shiny and red in the distance. As I get closer, it becomes obvious that it is multiple decorated Christmas trees.

It’s very odd for a business to sell trees in the middle of nowhere on a day like today, yet it’s also pretty convenient for me at the same time, so I ain’t complaining. They’re saving me energy and precious time.

I’m freezing cold, and my finger tips have gone numb. I really need to find the perfect one before noon. The basketball game is coming on soon. I pick up the pace and stomp my prints into the snow. I cannot wait to hurry up and go home.

I reach the trees, but no one’s here. I call out, “Is there anyone near that can help me buy a tree?”

No reply, so I make my way over to the lightest one, grab it, and try to flee.

The elf on the log talks, “What about this tree? It comes with a story.”

I’ve seen unexplainable stuff before, so I’m not afraid, but I’m convinced I’m dreaming. He opens up the book and reads it aloud, “Those that steal will be on the naughty list and never seen again in their town.”

Wonder AI

He slams the book shut, and then I trip and fall on my bad knee. The evil toy elf runs in front of me and says, “You’ll have to pay with your life.”

He lifts up his axe and swings it down. I roll over in the snow, and he misses. I couldn’t even scream, but it didn’t matter; there is no one around to hear.

I pull out my knife and get back on my feet. We’re facing each other, but he doesn’t speak; he just smiles. I back away without taking my eyes off of him.

He’s terrifying, and I don’t want him to ruin Christmas for everyone nearby, so I tell the stupid elf, “Get ready to say goodbye.” I toss my knife, pull out my pistol, and shoot him twice. He crumbles into a pile of coal.

I can’t believe that I saved Christmas, but I’m so thankful that I did…

THE END

Author’s Note: This is part 2 of a story I wrote for RM Stockton’s challenge. Click here to learn more.

Thanks for reading!

🩵 R.P. 🎄

CONTENT WARNINGthrillerMysteryMicrofictionHoliday
11

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write what I want, whenever I want.

Thanks for reading!

-R.P. ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    I really hoped Santa had made him good. Oh well, evil is as evil does. Bye bye evil elf.

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    WOW you really know how to write a compelling story! What a powerful ending!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Good! I'm glad you blew him into a lump of coal. Great story.

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Pulling out the gun was a nice touch! 😂. And him turning into a pile of coal, was perfect. Great follow up!!!

  • Oh no, the evil elf died and Christmas is saved. So sad. Lol. Loved your story! Thank you so much for writing part 2! Merry Christmas!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    🤍

  • Yes! Christmas is saved and the Evil Elf has been reduced to coal! I love the happy resolution. Perfectly done. Now, about that stolen Christmas tree? lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.