Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Dr Psycho

9th May, Story #131/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 11 days ago 3 min read
23
Made with DALL-E. Sorry his scalpel looks weird.

Some say I've got a God complex. That I'm narcissistic.

I am better than a lot of other people. Egotistical, maybe, but true. I'm the best in my field. Things that bother other people don't bother me. Blood for instance. OK, not many surgeons mind that, so not the best example.

Brain surgery is my specialty. I was operating on a patient who required quite complex surgery.

I followed the steps meticulously with a steady hand. I'm world famous for this, I know what I'm doing. So when blood started gushing, I felt something like surprise. It's not often that things that are not supposed to happen, happen. Not to me. Not when I'm in charge. Is this how other (normal) people feel?

So much blood. We couldn't see what we were doing. My assistants were suctioning it away, but couldn't keep up. A nurse called out his stats; his blood pressure was dropping like a heavy stone. Others were trying to get blood into him, but they couldn't keep up either. It was pissing out of him so fast. It was almost comical, like a clown car but with blood. I didn't giggle.

The world pulled into sharp focus, brighter colours. My skin tingled. My heart leapt. This is a good day at work for me.

The guy was basically dead. There was surely no coming back from this. I went in there with my hands and had a good feel around inside his head.

Fishing about in the soup of blood, exploring by feel, I found the problem. I might have laughed. What little I could see of the faces around me looked bloodless and pinched. What's wrong with them?

They could see the smile on my mouth, but could they see it in my eyes? When this stuff happens, I don't know how to dim that light. Pretend I'm as scared as anyone else. That I'm feeling things the way a normal person would.

I set to work dealing with the problem. Might as well. What do you know: his blood pressure started climbing.

My assistant told me afterwards that it was the scariest thing he'd ever seen. I thought it was fun.

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Word count: (excluding author's note): 366

Submitted on: 9th May at 23:02

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you so much for reading my story! The ha'penny that Vocal will pay me for your eyes will be well spent. A maid to clean my toothbrush, maybe, or a man to shine my left shoe.

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes a 130 day streak since the 1st January.

Please do consider lending your support to the other creators who are also on this madcap "a story every day" adventure. They are putting out excellent content every day!

Rachel Deeming

Gerard DiLeo

The story behind the story: Surgeons have to dehumanise their patients to some degree so that they can, you know, cut into them. And "surgeon with a God complex" is a common trope. I wanted to explore this. I guess this is a good use of sociopathic tendencies, right?

Leave me a comment! Please do leave me a comment. It makes it easier for me to reciprocate the read. Do you want this person holding the knife when you go under, or not? If you've done a story about a sociopath, please leave me a link. I'd love to read it.

Thank you

Thank you again! Most especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you 😁

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Short StoryMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
23

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Murali7 days ago

    While reading this story, my mind went to Dr. Gregory House's character. But I don't know why it made me think of him.

  • Hannah Moore10 days ago

    I love the ambiguity of his morality there. He did the right thing, but....

  • Christy Munson10 days ago

    I thought immediately of Dharr. So glad to see she's read and commented! Delightful (?) twist on the notion of "do no harm"... And is it wrong that I kind of like the funky twist of the AI blade? 😉

  • Gerard DiLeo10 days ago

    Surgery is fun, but that doesn't mean it's funny. I get it.

  • That smile when everyone else was scared, that was relatable hehehehe. If anyone told me this, even under any context, "My assistant told me afterwards that it was the scariest thing he'd ever seen.", it would have been such high praise for me hehehehehehe

  • I loved this! So exciting! More surgery stories, please! He’s kind of like Dr. Strange before his “accident!” 😍

  • What a hilarious story! Dr Psycho.

  • Belle11 days ago

    ❤️❤️ You have a love letter written about you! ❤️❤️ I have just posted a writers appreciation work to shout out and celebrate some amazing Vocal creators, featuring you and some other writers! I hope you don't mind ❤️ https://vocal.media/writers/writers-appreciation-a-love-letter

  • John Cox11 days ago

    This was fun and terrifying! Really well done!

  • Cathy holmes11 days ago

    This is great, but now I'm thinking every surgeon may be psychotic. Yikes!

  • Caroline Craven11 days ago

    Not someone you necessarily want to be mates with or marry but def the surgeon you want operating on you! Great story.

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    Reminds me of the show The Good Doctor. Great work on this story. We all hope that we will have that brilliant surgeon others may think is a psycho.

  • Thavien Yliaster11 days ago

    As long as he's not causing problems just to fix them later if he knows how to save lives, let the surgeon do his work.

  • Mark Gagnon11 days ago

    I think Babs said it best, Bloody good!

  • Belle11 days ago

    I love how psychotic this one is! We trust surgeons with our lives, but never question the fact that these people choose to open bodies and be elbow deep in blood and organs everyday. Maybe it's something to wonder?? Great work, L. C.!

  • Babs Iverson11 days ago

    Bloody good!!!

  • This is a really fascinating piece. I think you have gotten at what the psychology of a Master is like - where most people become out of their element, the Master finds Flow, which is exactly what you're describing here. Well done! Now, the question becomes whether there is nothing actually wrong with this guy... or if there's more to this story that we haven't gotten at yet haha. I'm assuming the second because they are called Dr. Psycho, so I'm thinking they lose their license and continue to practice, pushing the boundaries further and further until a breaking point.. and then? My mind is racing now because in extreme sports there is something similar to this where some athletes chase the "Flow High" to more and more extreme stunts until... well I'm sure you can figure that piece out. There is a lot of fascinating Psychology you could play with if you decide to expand it out, LC!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.