Fiction logo

Double Trouble

Fiction Shorts word of the day: Conference

By Colleen Millsteed Published 13 days ago 1 min read
6
Image courtesy of Pixabay

“Honey, I’ve got to rush or I’ll miss my plane. I’m annoyed I have to go, but promise I’ll make it up to you when I get back next week.”

Paul smiles at his wife, “No problem Val, I’ll miss you but it comes with the job. See you next week, beautiful.”

He watches Valerie leave in a taxi.

With a grin, Paul phones Felicity. “She’s gone, finally. Some fake conference attendance, while slipping off to spend a week with her lover. Some nerve!

Anyway, we have an entire week to spend together. Get your gorgeous butt over here, STAT.”

This drabble has been written as part of the daily Drabble Drop challenge and today's random word, that must be included in the drabble, is 'conference'.

Wikipedia defines a drabble as follows :

A drabble is a short work of fiction of precisely one hundred words in length. The purpose of the drabble is brevity, testing the author's ability to express interesting and meaningful idea in a confined space.

If you like this Drabble, why not check out my latest book, due to be published on 30 May 2024.

Save the date.

Looking for a teaser to whet your appetite? Look no further than the link below :

Keep up to date on my website if you'd like to know more.

Pre-order your copy via the link below.

Originally published on Medium

Microfiction
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 days ago

    Ugh, both Paul and Val are cheating! I hope Val's plane crashes and Paul dies from his balls exploding!

  • This was a fun one :))

  • Great Drabble and so excited about your book!

  • Brenda Fluharty13 days ago

    Congratulations on the new book.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.