Fiction logo

Cries of the innocent

inspired by the 'Just a Minute' challenge

By Heather HublerPublished 14 days ago 4 min read
10
Created with NightCafeStudio

'Oh Rathlon, what have you done this time?' Ishu stared down in dismay at his friend, bent over and covered in deep scratches.

'I think it's quite obvious, isn't it?' he responded as Ishu began to fuss. 'No need for your hysterics. What's done is done and cannot be undone no matter how you wish it.'

'Well, I can see that being injured once again hasn't managed to rouse any sense of self-preservation in you,' Ishu snapped, cross with his friend's lack of concern.

Though Ishu knew Rathlon was a reserved sort in general, it still grated how little regard he seemed to hold for himself. That he could never see his worth, like what a stalwart and loyal companion he was. How his endless generosity was a boon to all who knew him.

The other woodland creatures gossiped of course, always focusing on the wrong things. Like the way Rathlon rarely showed emotion or initiated conversation. They said he was aloof and stuck up. It seemed Ishu was the one exception, able to see past his prickly facade to the sweetness sheltered beneath.

And yet those very same blather mouths were keen to take advantage of Rathlon's strength, his willingness to help those in need. It infuriated him.

Despite others' opinions on the matter, the two had been inseparable for many moons, yet it never felt like enough time to Ishu. There always seemed to be close calls in these parts of the Hallowed Wood. The dryads did their best to protect the forest, but the humans were never content to stay put.

In the dead of night, they'd sneak in to set pits and traps and nets meant to ensnare the simple creatures that were surely beneath them. Delicacies they claimed could not be found in their mundane world. Their dull, rounded ears simply too primitive, unable to understand Ishu's kin when they spoke.

Even more concerning was that somehow their feeble minds came to realize time moved a bit more slowly in the Wood; one moment feeling as two. Their selfishness grew, seeking a longevity they had no right to attain, and Ishu wanted nothing to do with them.

But he saw the way they intrigued Rathlon, how he looked fondly at their young ones' exuberance and natural curiosity. He was drawn to helping them navigate this strange Wood, going so far as to protect them from the natural predators that lurked.

Of course Ishu had pondered all these heavy thoughts many times before when Rathlon got himself into these predicaments. They raced by in a blur now as he took in the scene before him.

Mere moments had passed and yet a rapidly growing pool of wetness gathered under Rathlon's slumped form. It sent a chill down his spine. With a sharp inhale, Rathlon shifted and a fresh wave soaked the earth.

'Where is all that blood coming from? Tell me. Let me fix this!' Ishu's wild eyes searched him from head to toe, heartbeat thundering in his ears. This was no simple wound to dress. No silly tale in the making that they'd laugh about later. Rathlon was dying. What could've given him a wound so sever–

'You were with those human younglings, weren't you?' Ishu gasped.

Rathlon's face said it all. Not a hair moved, not even the twitch of an eye, yet his best friend, the love of his life, knew him.

'They're worth it, Ish. Don't blame them for my choices,' his deep voice rasped, a wicked cough rising up as he spoke. 'There is good to be found in us all.'

Bitter tears dripped down Ishu's velvet fur, mixing with the deep red soaking his paws.

'Well, I blame them. I knew a moment like this might come someday, but I don't accept it.' He turned swiftly and grabbed the branch of an Ansel bush close by. A wicked thorn the length of his leg protruded from the nasty shrub. He snapped it off and held it to his heart.

'Where you go, I go,' Ishu pledged, pushing the tip into his chest, drawing a bead of ruby red. 'I love you, Rathlon. I could not have asked for a better life than the one I shared with you, but I cannot bear it alone. I cannot.'

Rathlon's eyes glazed over, his death ushered in on a hushed plea, 'Love you...not...go...save her.'

Ishu's heart shattered. 'To the end and even then, my love.' With shaky resolve, he moved to slam the thorn home, but a small cry broke the grim silence, stopping him cold.

'Pease help,' it whined pitifully.

And in that moment, two paths slowly unfurled before him–death to be with his love, or life to aid the cause of it.

Ishu sighed deeply, a sob catching in his raw throat, then moved to place a gentle kiss on his beloved's still form.

The sound of innocence called again, broken but hopeful.

And Ishu answered.

____________________________________________________

Thank you for reading!

AdventureShort StoryLoveFantasy
10

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart8 days ago

    Ah ffs. Damn you. Damn you to hell. Tears aren't falling from my eyes. Not at all. It must be the illness....yes, ilnness. Not your fabulous and emotive writing. My word, this was not what I thought it was going to be. Heather, you never cease to amaze me. Honestly. I know we're buds and we big each other up. But, my word, you are talented. Please know I mean that genuinely. Beautiful writing.

  • Shirley Belk12 days ago

    Emotionally riveting. I don't know why, but I saw parallels into what a law officer's family might feel in this situation. Well done, Heather!

  • If I was Ishu, I would have been so conflicted as to whether should I help the ones who were the cause of the death of the love of my life. I don't think I'd have decided as fast as Ishu did though. I tend to be angry and hold grudges for long. But he made the right decision. I feel so sad for Rathlon 🥺

  • Dana Crandell14 days ago

    Wow, Sis, this one had me all over the place emotionally. Absolutely amazing. Might there be a sequel coming?

  • Hannah Moore14 days ago

    Oh my word, so good.

  • ROCK 14 days ago

    I'm so sad! The innocence of furry critters, the brutality of nature and the beauty of friendship wrapped up so vividly. Excellent!

  • Cathy holmes14 days ago

    Oh God. I love it. I hate it. I'm an absolute jumble of emotion. Fantastic writing.

  • Oof this one hurt. Your work is always emotional but this one really got me. Phenomenal job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.