Fiction logo

Concentrate on Your Life

The Best Motivational Short Story

By Abdul QayyumPublished 21 days ago 4 min read
Like
Concentrate on Your Life
Photo by Wonderlane on Unsplash

Concentrate on Your Life

A trainee monk once confided in his master, saying, "Master, I have to leave this Temple. I wish to depart from this location and enter a serene monastery." Why, the abbot monk inquired? What is this Temple's problem? Tell me what transpired. "You see, Master, everyone in this Temple is toxic to me," exclaimed the young monk. There are monks who are overly involved in politics, and there are other monks who are constantly criticizing me, you, and other monks.

Some people just talk about gossip all day long. I don't believe this Temple is a place where I can live out my spirituality. Permit me to enter a serene monastery where I won't be surrounded by poisonous individuals." After giving the learner his whole attention, the master monk stated, "All right, student, I'll let you go. But you need to do me one final favor before you leave." The pupil responded, "Everything, of course, Master. Just let me know what I can do to help you." Thus, the pupil monk received a tablespoon of water from the master monk.

He instructed him to bring the spoonful of water back to him without spilling a single drop and to carry it around the monastery.The master monk answered, "If you can do that, I will let you go to a peaceful monastery.". The student monk grabbed the tablespoon of water and carried it around the monastery, completely concentrated and not dropping a drop, eager to do this work so he could move to a calm monastery. The trainee monk returned to the teacher a few hours later, beaming, and said, "teacher, master,

I completed it. I did not spill a drop of the water that I was carrying around the monastery in this teaspoon. Thus, kindly honor your word and allow me to enter a tranquil monastery." "All right, my pupil, you are free to depart as promised," the abbot grinned. Just tell me one thing before you leave, though. Did you hear any monks discussing politics when you were moving the tablespoon of water throughout the monastery? Have any of the monks been chatting up other folks or you?

Have any of the monks spoken anything unpleasant to you?" "No, Master, I was fully focused on the spoon, and I didn't have time to listen to all those noises," the young monk retorted. The master monk then spoke, "You see, my student, you don't have time to listen to all those other negative noises around you if you are fully focused on your goal and if you are fully focused on your purpose." Never forget that you will encounter negative people everywhere you go in this world. However, all the other negative people and comments you hear will seem like noise to you if you are totally focused on your objective and broader purpose.

You see, wherever you go in life, the more you pay attention to other people's actions, statements, and lives, the inevitable it is that you will come across poisonous people. You'll always sense that you're straying from your actual course or objective. Simply keep your attention on yourself. This is not to say that you should be self-centered; rather, it means that you should concentrate on your objective, your route, and your travels; all the gossip from those unfavorable people will merely make background noise. Therefore, disregard the negative individuals around you, focus on your own life, and don't be afraid to listen to yourself. Additionally, there is a positive aspect to these terrible individualswhich you might not be able to see or hear. In addition, keep in mind that wherever you flee, there will be negative individuals and others who will speak poorly about you. Additionally, you encounter dislikeable people on a regular basis. You will be happy wherever you are if you are happy where you are. There's nothing in the world that can make you happy if you're not satisfied where you are. Concentrate on yourself and your life. This serves as their inspirational tale. I really appreciate you watching, and keep up the good work." The novice monk nodded, taking in the knowledge imparted by his teacher. He thanked his master and resumed his trek, but this time he wasn't merely going to a different monastery.

Along with the memory of the spoonful of water he had managed to save, he also realized as he left the Temple that he could protect himself from the negativity and diversions around him with his resolve and attention. He accepted the notion that his inner tranquility rested more on his own mental state than it did on the outside world with every stride.

The novice monk had difficulties and times of uncertainty in the days that followed, but he clung to the teachings he had received from his master. He never wavered in his dedication to his spiritual quest because he understood that genuine serenity could only be attained within.

Consequently, he brought with him the fortitude to stick to his course and the knowledge of concentration wherever he went. He became more and more determined every day as he came to understand that his journey was about more than just getting to his destination—it was a path towards self-realization, development, and enlightenment.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Abdul Qayyum

I am retired professor of English Language. I am fond of writing articles and short stories . I also wrote books on amazon kdp. My first Language is Urdu and I tried my best to teach my students english language ,

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.