Fiction logo

Cat Burglar

Firstly, I refer to Furrys in this story and had to research them a little. I hope this doesn't offend anyone. Secondly, a story in exactly 200 words, who comes up with this madness.

By Phil FlanneryPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
7
Cat Burglar
Photo by Scott Rodgerson on Unsplash

Kitty furtively watched the young man wandering slowly around the store. Something about him made her wary. She had been working at the small jewellers, for nearly 10 years now, late night shopping and weekend work interfered with her social life, but then she was only kidding herself that she had a social life.

Kitty had a secret though and this young man may be her undoing. They had met as Furry’s, and for the moment it would seem he hadn’t recognised her. Using her name as inspiration she was a cat and had been drawn to him because he was one also; back in reality it was a small tattoo on his hand, which gave him away.

It seemed unusually quiet; the ticking clocks the only noise. Suddenly, he produced a hammer and began smashing the glass displays, quickly picking large amounts of jewellery and watches. Kitty dropped down.

It happened in seconds and in his attempt to escape, a passing security guard tackled him to the ground.

Later, cleaning up glass, she spied a beautiful diamond ring, hidden in the glistening shards. Quietly she placed it in the bin she was using. She would empty it another time.

Microfiction
7

About the Creator

Phil Flannery

Damn it, I'm 61 now, which means I'm into my fourth year on Vocal, I have an interesting collection of stories. I love the Challenges and enter, when I can, but this has become a lovely hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Sian N. Clutton10 months ago

    Short, sweet and compelling. It's hard to tell a story in 200 words, well done!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Nice micro that took an unsuspecting turn.

  • Jay Kantor12 months ago

    My Aussie Chum ~ You have my vote as always ~ Jay

  • Oooo, this was awesomeeee! Fantastic story!

  • Lilly Cooper12 months ago

    A great take on the Micro Heist Challenge :) Diamonds are a girl's best friend. Too bad that friend may be a bad influence!

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    Tsk tsk! Great little micro! 👍😊 I just commented on Facebook that I wasn’t sure if I’ve read your pieces but it looks like I’ve read a few as I’m subscribed! My bad, I can’t remember everyone. Didn’t even know you were Aussie!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.