Fiction logo

Bahnhof

Braunau 1892

By Roy StevensPublished about a year ago 1 min read
15
Bahnhof
Photo by Artur Łuczka on Unsplash

The toddler climbed off the bench, waddling toward the edge of the station platform just as the Passau bound train rounded the last curve. Occupied with the ticket agent his mother didn't notice.

Beside the stationhouse playing with a dreidel, eight-year-old Anne looked up. She saw the toddler and the approaching train in the same instant. The girl dropped her toy and ran to the tiny boy. His mother screamed while Anne pulled the child from the threshold.

Moments later a grateful mother smiled down, "Thank you child. I am Frau Hitler, and this is little Adolf."

By Tetiana SHYSHKINA on Unsplash

Microfiction
15

About the Creator

Roy Stevens

Just one bad apple can spoil a beautiful basket. The toxins seep throughout and...

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Test12 months ago

    Dang. No words except, “What if?”

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Roy!... Roy!!!... ROY!!!!! Sorry to yell but how can you do this to us? First I'm panicking that the toddler will get hit and then I'm so relieved he is saved and now... I'm even more rattled! How can you do this to us? I am so happily devastated by this amazing story! How you managed to throw two plot twists in such a small word count is baffling! Not to mention the tension-filled atmosphere you built followed by relief and shock... All I can truly say is "Could you please help me? I seem to have dropped my jaw somewhere around here." 😜

  • I was hoping for the train to hit the baby. I was like "Ah man, a happy ending!". And then I froze at the baby’s name. Yep, this couldn't get scarier! Excellent job!

  • Kurt Maxeyabout a year ago

    Great story! Great twist at the end! 👍

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    How moments with different outcomes would have shift history. Great story. Well written. 😎

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Oy vey. That’s a plot twist I didn’t see coming! It’s brilliant.

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    I've read at least two hundred of these mini stories and this one has the best, unexpected twist in my opinion. Hats off my friend.🥇🍻💯 Now all we need to do is revisit the time traveler prompt to go back and distract Anne. 😅

  • Abby Kay Mendoncaabout a year ago

    My eyes literally popped out of my head. This hit hard! I'm not on my phone, but clapping emoji for you!

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Oh, Scheisse!!! What an unexpected twist, Roy! 😱

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh, damn!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Wow! Did NOT see that one coming. Way to go, Roy!

  • Mohammed Darasiabout a year ago

    😂😂😂 that's messed up.. nicely done though. Adding that little messed up fate in there between the two

  • Lol 🫵🙃 you're just being messy now😆🙈😉...

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    Eeesh! Nicely done!

  • Ooo, that hurts.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.