Fiction logo

All Money Ain't Good Money, Tiff!

~James & Oneg's You've Got Mail Challenge~

By Tiffany Gordon Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2023
43
All Money Ain't Good Money, Tiff!
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Here is my response to James & Oneg's You've Got Mail Challenge.

We were asked to "Start a story/poem with the last line of an email or letter you recently received."

Here is a link to all of James & Oneg's Summer Writing Challenges. Feel free to play along!

Here is my challenge-related story. Hope you enjoy it:

Please let me know how you would like to proceed...

Those words rang throughout my mind like a high-powered alarm clock as I reread the last sentence of the email for the tenth time!

I had just received an email from the HR Manager at Sunrise Airlines stating that she and her team had seen something special in me and that they would like to interview me a second time for one of their Flight Attendant positions.

My first thought was, am I being punked? Was Ashton Kutcher about to jump out of the hall closet with his camera crew?

I couldn't help but wonder if I was so special to Sunrise Airlines, why was I ghosted by the company the first time around when I inquired about my second interview, after being told that I had aced my first one? 

Also, why hadn't the initial email from the HR team mentioned that there would be a total of three interviews in all, like the email that I received today had?

Sunrise Airlines did NOT make a very good first impression. They didn't appear to be very organized at all. I remember that a member of their HR team had accidentally written down three people for the same 2 p.m. 1st interview slot.

Also, the young man with dreads who conducted my initial interview kept talking about the awesome edibles that he had had the night before while looking at my cleavage on the low the entire time. He also kept mistakenly calling me Stephanie Garden instead of Tiffany Gordon. Which is a real pet peeve of mine.

But hey, my mortgage would be due again soon, and my savings were running a-penny-with-a-hole-in-it-low so maybe beggars shouldn't be choosers.

About ten minutes after reading the Sunrise email, I began to get a gnawing pain in my belly.

"It's probably nothing... I probably just need to put something in my system," I said aloud to myself as the pain began to ramp up. I hurried to the kitchen to whip something up. I didn't want my stomach to begin howling like a feline giving birth to an elephant in public again, like it had the day before when I was heading home on the train after eating essentially nothing but a yogurt the entire day.

After eating my tasty sausage breakfast sandwich, I glanced at the time; it was 10 o'clock on the dot. I decided to go for a long walk to release some endorphins and burn a few calories.

When I returned home, the pedometer on my waistband said that I had clocked in at 10 miles for the entire week.

"Wow, I left for my walk at 10 a.m. and clocked in ten miles on my pedometer for the week! Ten must be my lucky number," I said aloud to myself with a chuckle.

Once I logged on to the Career Builder website, I decided to check out page ten of the airline industry listings since ten seemed to be the number of the day. Once I reached the top of page ten, I immediately saw ten reviews for Sunrise Airlines.

Review #1 :

* All of my co-workers, including the pilot, were so high they couldn't do their jobs properly!

Signed Mallory C.

Review #2 :

* I was promised $30/HR during my third interview because of my BA. I only received $24.

Signed Whitney J.

Review #3 :

*Their intern Jean-Luc (the flirtatious chap with the shoulder-length fuchsia dreads) is so unprofessional! He never followed our manager's orders and constantly hit on all of the flight attendants! Please stay away from him. Word on the street is that he is one of the pilot's nephews. I got so tired of his antics that I quit! Good luck with the nepotism!"

Signed Anonymous

Truthfully, I couldn't get past the third review because I was so sickened by what I had just read. They say the Lord speaks to his children through their gut, and I knew from my trusty intuition pains that God was trying to urgently tell me to run and never look back!

God didn't have to tell me twice. I promptly deleted the Sunrise Airlines 2nd interview invitation from my email inbox and went about my day.

Like my Momma used to always say, All money ain't good money, Tiff! 

.

Short Story
43

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (36)

Sign in to comment
  • slimizzy10 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • The Dani Writer10 months ago

    THIS WAS SO AWESOME!!! Top Story who? Top Story YOU! Phenomenal work with a unique personal essay style that packs a power punch lesson. I can soooo hear your Mama and my Mama in my ear with those parting words. Hoooo chile! Nailed it.

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Hurray!!! Swinging back to say congrats!

  • BossFactor10 months ago

    this is great !!!!!!

  • Wow, that's excellent!!!!!!!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    Those reviews were such red flags!! So glad you stayed away. I am so glad you shared this. You are so personable and relatable and extraordinarily in your personal experience, and it makes your words glow off the screen

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    ✍️ Tiffany, this is filled with jewels of wisdom and wit!!! "... a-penny-with-a-hole-in-it-low": I loved this saying and many more. The cleverness of this and your organizational thread kept me hooked. Congratulations!!! 👋

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Thavien Yliaster10 months ago

    Sometimes it's best to follow Your gut instinct. I was starting to think that young man with dreads was trying to go after Stephanie Garden's cabbages if she would've went through with this accepting this job. Goodness, I've dealt with some inappropriate behavior from companies before, but usually most of them would end up just ghosting me. Worst case I had with a coworker was her trying to kiss me at a bar after work. Glad You chose to get out of dodge, since with that nepotism in play, that dreaded young man would become Your daily dream. Talk about a living nightmare. Besides that, I'm also not a fan of prolific drug use. I'm okay if people use it recreationally, but please don't smell like weed when Your job needs You to be working at Your best. I know that if I were to wear certain perfumes, no matter how amazing my mannerisms were with my credentials, I would never be considered for the positions I would be applying for. Besides, I was also told this, "People don't quit companies. They quit their bosses/managers." Sounds like You made the right decision to quit before You even joined. Plus, the part about the misleading starting pay infuriates me to no extent.

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    “10 must be my lucky number” 🤣 Congratulations on top story!

  • sakin wuda mohammed10 months ago

    great job

  • James U. Rizzi10 months ago

    YES a much deserved top story congratulations

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    I really, really thought I'd commented on this before. Congratulations, Tiffany!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉

  • Lightning Bolt10 months ago

    ♥️♥️♥️♥️ Another greatly deserved Top Story honor for a beautiful lady!

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Swinging back to say congrats on top story!

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    That's the beauty of the online world. You can easily see what people think of any company now. I'm glad you didn't accept the new interview and went about your day. People cannot pronounce or write my name properly, so I understand your pet peeve! Thank you for sharing your story with us. It was great to read!

  • Colleen Flanagan10 months ago

    Enjoyed your slice of life, Tiffany! As someone probably older than your Momma, I'd say you escaped a "h*ll job" by tuning into Spirit. Well done!

  • Lilly Cooper10 months ago

    A very valuable message! And a fun little piece ❤️

  • Sarah D10 months ago

    Nicely written!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Stephanie garden? Yeah, he was high AF 😅. Awesome entry and I'm glad you ran for the hills!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Wonderfully written, and Tiffany was right delete that email. Well done

  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    Love that last line especially. All money is not good money for sure.

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    I must confess, i sometimes call you Stephanie, I swear I never say Garden. 🤣😍. Great one Tiffany. I did say Tiffany, right. Phew!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.