Fiction logo

A Perfect Day for Skiing

The crisp snow, what could go wrong

By Sarah DanaherPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3
A Perfect Day for Skiing
Photo by William Jones on Unsplash

The crisp slopes were perfect. It was gently laid the night before with anticipation of today. My skis were ready as I entered the ideal day for the slopes. The cold was refreshing. Skiing was my favorite pastime, and I had finally taken my time off work. I woke up early for the empty slopes, yet the brisk air was calling me. I rode up the lift with the site of the snow-covered trees. The breeze was freezing but perfect for the day. I arrived at the top, and the slope was untouched. My skies have been waxed and ready. The smooth snow with no tracks as I came upon the hill. The sky was perfect, and I headed down the mountain. The speed calmed my heart to be alone on the slopes. The trees gave the hill the lines, and I cannot stop this great sport. This was one of the most advanced slopes. I was going my way till my skin became loose. Stopping became more difficult as I headed toward the trees. Snow was flying every day as my life flashed before my eyes. The snow suddenly gave way, and I was surrounded by snow. I finally realized I was in a pile of snow off the slope. My body was sore, and my head was throbbing. It was such a perfect day, and now I might just die in this hole. Suddenly, the snow started making a noise and moving. Is this a rescue or doom?

Stream of ConsciousnessMicrofiction
3

About the Creator

Sarah Danaher

I enjoy writing for fun. I like to write for several genres including fantasy, poetry, and dystopian, but I am open to trying other genres too. It has been a source of stress relief from my busy life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey3 months ago

    What a emotional shift near the end, good job

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.