Fiction logo

A Dog & A Stick

Swimming, Maybe Not

By Misty RaePublished about a year ago 1 min read
6

Oh, boy, oh boy! I love summer! I want to run and play and sniff...EVERYTHING!

It's such a nice hot day. The sun is shining. I can feel it on my back, hot, strong. And the water will be so cool and refreshing.

We're going to the river! I'm going swimming! I'm going to chase sticks and paddle through the water like a duck!

Oh, the freedom!

There's a stick. I fetch them so fast. Mommy's so pleased. I'm a good boy.

There's another. It's way out there. Here I go!

Wait. Nope. Can't touch bottom!

Yeah, I don't swim.

LoveHumor
6

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    Yep, yep, yep. You had me, Misty, at "Boy, oh boy!" You claimed me with, "There's a stick. I fetch them so fast." You slayed me with, "Yeah, I don't swim."

  • Lynn Anderson about a year ago

    If dogs could talk. 🐶📣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.