Fiction logo

89 All Done

For Friday, March 29, Day 89/366

By Gerard DiLeoPublished about a month ago Updated 28 days ago 2 min read
Top Story - March 2024
25
...or the highway.

I suppose I'm all done here. My job's over.

I've done everything I had wanted to do. I've delivered all my messages. I've lived my life by the golden rule and hope that I have taught others to live their lives by my example.

I have survived in the streets by the kindness of others, while sidestepping the cruelties--which I knew I couldn't avoid forever. Before one got me, though, I just wanted to do everything I had set out to do before the gotcha got me.

God had a plan for me. How many times have I heard that! Now I know God puts everyone here for a reason, and it's all we can do to find it out. I hope I have. I think I have. It wasn't always easy, but I'm hopeful I did.

There were times when I had my doubts, especially self-doubts. Nothing was spoonfed me; I had to it alone. Sometimes my actions seemed mysterious, even to me; but they came naturally. I guess I had a gift for seeing the light--the right way. Sure, I've had thoughts. They creep in, do they not? From God knows where. Maybe God had nothing to do with them.

I pray my way was the right way.

Now I don't choose my destiny. I'm in others' hands. I suppose it's always been like that. So maybe it wasn't a gift, but a curse.

So, here I am: nothing more to prove. I'm perched with a clear vantage point of those who agreed with me, followed me, and hated me, too. I also can see they really don't know what they're doing. Like I was, before.

There's nothing else I can offer now except a kind of handshake between my own mortality and the infinite. I fret, though, that I'll only go over that bridge by letting everything go. It's a little frightening, but once all is done, I'll feel like I've always been comfortable doing just that. So I ignore the cruelties coming my way and don't bother sidestepping them anymore. Come what may, I've come my way. Crown and all.

"It is finished," I mutter, almost inaudibly, looking down from my cross.

________________

AUTHOR'S NOTE:

This is a prelude to my Easter Sunday submission, "Hither and Yon."

Word count (excluding notes): 366

Submitted for Friday, March 29, 2024. In a tangential way, this is a companion piece to my Good Friday submission, "All Done."

2024: A Story-a-Day for the whole year. This one is #89.

All pictures are AI-generated, but my faith is not!

SeriesMicrofiction
25

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned Catholic church in Hull, MA. Phase I: was New Orleans (and everything that entails).

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 27 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Ameer Bibi28 days ago

    Congratulations for top story 🥳🥳. Embrace your unique voice, for it holds the power to connect, resonate, and inspire others in ways only you can. Keep penning your truth, and watch as your words illuminate the path for others to follow."

  • Rosie Clifford28 days ago

    I want to say a very big thanks to Dr Jumba for the wonderful work he did for me in helping me to save my marriage, my husband filed for divorce because of the little misunderstanding we had in the past few month, And i never wanted this because i love my husband so much and all our investment was a joint business and i don't want to be far away from my family and my two lovely kids. My friend told me about Dr Jumba and how he also helped her with her marital issues, so i had to contact him because i want to stop my husband from completing the divorce letter and i want to keep my family together and after contacting him, i was told what i needed to do and when i was going to start seeing the result, I did as Dr Jumba has instructed and after 3 days my Husband call me and start asking for my forgiveness and it was all like a dream to me and we are all living happily together again all thanks to Dr Jumba . wiccalovespelltools @ gmail. com

  • Congratulations on your top story 🌹

  • A heartfelt Easter story on Good Friday .

  • Beautiful, timely and insightful. Inspiring the reader with a version of Christ inner thoughts during his moment of ultimate sacrifice. Well done. Congratulations

  • Andrea Corwin 30 days ago

    TS CONGRATULATIONS!! 🏆

  • Andrea Corwin 30 days ago

    I love this: “So, here I am: nothing more to prove. I'm perched with a clear vantage point of those who agreed with me, followed me, and hated me, too. I also can see they really don't know what they're doing“. Powerful take on this, and great ending.

  • 789Club30 days ago

    Lựa chọn nhà cái uy tín: Nên chọn nhà cái uy tín để đảm bảo Odds được đưa ra một cách công bằng. So sánh Odds giữa các nhà cái khác nhau trước khi đặt cược. Chi tiết: https://claycountyga.org/odds-la-gi/

  • That ending broke my heart 🥺🥺🥺 Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Caroline Craven30 days ago

    What an ending. This was so good. And perfect timing for Good Friday.

  • Lamar Wiggins30 days ago

    Wow, that ending just about made me gasp. Great work, Gerard!

  • angela hepworth30 days ago

    Great piece here! Even from outside a religious connotation, the story itself of Jesus taking it on himself to die for his people’s sins is a beautiful one and an inspiration for sacrifice and kindness.

  • Awesome!!! Brilliantly written!!! Love this!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Margaret Brennan30 days ago

    congratulations on TS. this is truly amazing. the ending punched me in the heart. but i love your story.

  • Cathy holmes30 days ago

    Oh wow. That is spectacular. The ending took me by surprise. Congrats on the TS.

  • D. J. Reddall30 days ago

    Easter can be marked in many ways, but this seems especially apt!

  • Babs Iverson30 days ago

    Awesome!!! Brilliantly written!!! Love this!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    Timely story. I didn't know where you were going with it and aha! I was there. Very good, Gerard.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a month ago

    This is very deep and sad. You hit the eemotions right on the mark. Your words permeate within the reader. Good work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.