Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

132 Irritation

For Saturday, May 11: Day 132 of the 2024 Story-a-Day Challenge

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 10 days ago Updated 8 days ago 2 min read
6
Pearls before swine.

Pearls are from irritation. Ask any oyster. Or when any guest outlasted their welcome.

And I'm irritated.

The irony is that while I use this concentric-layered aragonite and calcite to sequester my irritation, it just happens to be on the end of a pistol. To settle my discontent that began small as a grain. That milky white irony is now firmly within my grasp: purposeful, 45-calibred, and well-aimed. It is an iron-clad clasp that is clammy and sweaty.

I won't wait a day longer, lest it become rusty.

Colt Manufacturing Company and Smith & Wesson solve problems. They remedy discontent. I bought stock in them before I bought this useful tool lock, stock, and barrel. It's the only thing that memorializes me in this alleged crime, committed--allegedly--by the alleged shooter who is me.

Allegedly.

People with imagination, however, will ask, "Who killed whom?"

And what will finally solve my problem is that I must turn this pearly executioner on myself as I do you, my companion. Because the whole drama--the discontent, irritation, pain, and cruelty that ruins what's left of my life--is a package deal of you and me.

There's no villain but there're two victims.

You and I are way past blame. How might one draw a line between us? This is our final dance macabre together. Does it matter whether it's here or at the end of failed chemotherapy? What does matter in any dance is who leads.

May I?

I have clammed up tight, but the irritation has continued within--until I find I must open, explosively, to discharge that irritation. It's just part of the pearl-making ecosystem, don't you think?

You want to live? So do I! Ah, the conundrum: There's no living with you.

We're gonna go together. I've tried to understand your motivations and your reasons. Robbing me; cheating me; emaciating me. I found them irritating, so I suppose I'm just a terrible host; and you've outstayed your welcome.

So, before all is done, we're both gonna be dead. Two birds with one stone, eh?

Me and my terminal disease. I hope you find it funny, but I've left explicit instructions that my tombstone read, "YOU SHOULD SEE THE OTHER GUY."

__________

Not a nice story, but it happens.

For Saturday, May 11, Day 132 of the Story-a-Day Challenge.

366 WORDS (without A/N)

All pictures are AI-generated, but the oyster of discontent is not!

---

There are currently three Vocal creators still participating in the 2024 Story-a-Day Challenge:

• L.C. Schäfer, challenge originator

• Rachel Deeming

• Gerard DiLeo (some other guy)

PLEASE SUPPORT THEM BY READING THEIR DAILY SUBMISSIONS

HorrorMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
6

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Gerard DiLeo (Author)8 days ago

    I've revised this to imply it being someone who wants to kill his malignancy by killing himself. I think it makes for a more interesting introspective turn. I had been inspired by my re-reading "Totipotency," at https://vocal.media/poets/totipotency-fi1g990045.

  • L.C. Schäfer8 days ago

    Always love your clever word play 😁

  • John Cox10 days ago

    Whoa! This is dark and disturbing. Torn from the headlines.

  • Hahahahahahahaha I certainly found this funny

  • Good job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.