Feast logo

Summer Bruschetta Recipe

A Dish to Celebrate Summer Solstice

By Ashlee FrazierPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4

As we just celebrated the summer solstice, I've been perfecting all of my hot weather recipes. I'm all about those easy snack and side dish recipes lately. Today, I have perfected my summer bruschetta recipe. When I tell you that this recipe has me day dreaming the hour before lunch... it's so good. I make this at every convenience and you'll see why. The flavors come together so well and create this impeccable melody of fruits (tomatoes are fruits) and white balsamic vinegar. There is something about fruits and the tartness of vinegar that works so well. The colors of this bruschetta are also excellent for hosting on patriotic holidays with the red, white and blue theme. Though it wasn't intentional, I'm not mad about it.

Something I preach is the quality of ingredients. I never short change myself or my recipes by using bottom shelf ingredients. It feels wrong with a recipe this good! Authentic, fresh and organic ingredients are key to all recipes. You really can taste the difference. I buy my groceries from Central Market and I'll tell you, there's a difference. Another kitchen rule I swear by: a wooden spoon. It adds an authentic flavor to your food. You'll never catch me cooking without one. This summer bruschetta will be the first recipe you'll grab when you're preparing for a party or you're stumped on dinner plans. Let's get to it.

Ingredients

1 French baguette

5 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

2 tablespoons white balsamic vinegar

2 teaspoon ginger honey

3/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1/2 cup quartered cherry tomatoes

1/2 cup chopped strawberries

1/4 cup blueberries

8 ounces fresh mozzarella cheese 1 ball, chilled

1 tablespoon chopped fresh basil (optional)

Wooden Spoon

Instructions

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit
  2. Cut your the baguette into 1/4″ slices. Pour 2 tablespoons of extra-virgin olive oil into a small bowl and coat each side of the baguette slice with oil.
  3. Spread each slice evenly on a baking sheet. Sprinkle with a 1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt and bake for 10 minutes. Rotate the sheet halfway through if the baguette slices are not cooking evenly.
  4. In a large bowl, add 2 tablespoons of white balsamic vinegar, the remaining 3 tablespoons of olive oil, 3/4 teaspoon of kosher salt and 2 teaspoons of ginger honey. Whisk together until blended.
  5. Mix in the quartered cherry tomatoes, chopped strawberries and blueberries until the fruit is well coated.
  6. Slice mozzarella into small slivers, about a 1/2″ wide.
  7. Remove the baguette slices from the oven once browned and place on your serving tray.
  8. Add 1 or 2 slices of the mozzarella onto each piece of bread then spoon the fruit medley on top.
  9. Top each slice with basil, if desired.
  10. Drizzle leftover dressing over the entire dish, side to side then up and down to create a beautiful presentation. Add an extra drizzle of honey for a sweeter flavor.

Notes on this recipe

A few things to note on this recipe are the dressing proportions, tomatoes and presentation. This recipe creates extra dressing for a generous drizzle of the finished product. Once you make this, you’ll be glad there’s extra dressing! For extra color, use organic multicolored tomatoes. The pops of color are so gorgeous paired with the strawberries and blueberries. Lastly, I serve this recipe on a long white tray and place the baguette slices close together. I top the slices altogether rather than individually because it looks so beautiful! These are my tips so do with them as you please.

You'll need these...

Silver Measuring Cups / Gold Measuring Cups / Wooden Spoon / Striped Apron / Baking Sheets / Knife / Cutting Board / Towels / Candle / Rubber Brush / Bread Knife / Bowls / Serving Plate / Lemon Apron

cuisine
4

About the Creator

Ashlee Frazier

Best known for my appearance on The Bachelor's 17th season. I now focus on my fashion and accessories brand, ANEA HILL, and lifestyle blog where I share everything fashion, makeup, travel, family, and more. Follow me on Instagram! 🌿

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.