Feast logo

A Nut-Milker's Dream Come True

The Joy of Owning an Almond Cow

By Christina HunterPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
A Nut-Milker's Dream Come True
Photo by Sandi Benedicta on Unsplash

As an avid zero-waster it pained me each week to reach for that carton of almond milk from the grocery store dairy aisle. It felt as if the naysayers of the community were peaking around corners tsk-tsk'ing at my waxed-cardboard carton of deliciousness. Of course that likely wasn't the case, but I felt like an imposter who openly shares my views of cutting back household waste and then (not even discretely) adding wasteful packaging to my very own grocery cart. BUT - smoothies... am I right? I couldn't just cut almond milk out of my life. It was my one Achilles' heel in the zero-waste world.

Over the years I had carefully swapped out my garbage producing lifestyle with reusable or homemade versions of store-bought products. With every successful transition it felt like a mountain I had climbed. Hand soap and dishwasher tabs? I now refill in bulk using my mason jars. Bread bags and granola bar wrappers? I now make my own, resulting in zero packaging. I had even tried a few times to make my own almond milk, which turned into a grainy wasteful mess resembling my days of early motherhood and the spit-up blankets covering every surface.

You can understand my excitement then when one night while doom-scrolling my phone I saw an ad for the Almond Cow. "What?" I said out loud and sat up immediately. It felt like one of those "ah-ha" moments that Oprah speaks so endearingly about. In an instant I believed this shiny metal kettle looking appliance could solve all the world's problems. Or at the very least the niche zero-waste and vegan population's problems. I was hesitant to mention it to my husband after viewing the price. Was it worth it? Almonds were expensive to buy on their own. Do we even have room for one more appliance on the counter? Instead I did what every wife who wants to convince their husband of something does, I showed him the ad. "Isn't this cool?" I asked enthusiastically. He nodded, clearly not feeling the same way though. I rambled on about how great it would be while his eyes were glued to the golf channel. All the while, nodding away at my nut milk woes. On the next commercial he finally looked at me and said "so why don't you just order it then?". I repeated the price to ensure he knew what he was signing up for. He shrugged and said "go for it." Not gonna lie, I did an internal happy dance.

The day the Almond Cow arrived I was ready. I had purchased a 5lb bag of almonds from a local bulk shop. I tore open the pretty box (pausing to appreciate their little sentiments printed on it. I swooned a little on the fonts they chose. Everything just looked so perfect.) I immediately washed each part and put it all back together, ditching the electric pepper and salt shakers to make room for my shiny new toy on the counter. I added the almonds, the water, the maple syrup and a pinch of salt. I pressed the button and held my breath. After a few seconds it shut off and I peered inside. Milk! Just like that! No squeezing of nut milk bags into strainers. No blood, sweat and tears to make this silky beverage. I was in love. I grabbed my phone to take a picture of my final result and sent it to my husband. His reply, "wow!" followed by, "did you know the price you gave me for that was in American dollars, not Canadian?"

Oops. Too late!

product review
4

About the Creator

Christina Hunter

Author, Mother, Wife. Recipient of the Paul Harris Fellowship award and 2017 nominee for the Women of Distinction award through the YWCA. Climate Reality Leader, Zero-Waste promoter, beekeeper and lover of all things natural.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.