Families logo

Sophia's Search

One hundred years later, the search continues.

By PK ColleranPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
Runner-Up in The Dragon Beside Me Challenge
15
On our bookshelf: photo circa 1939, Sophia Lillian Yilek and daughter Dorothy

Standing on tiptoe at her mother’s bedside, little Sophia heard these words:

"I've always loved you as if you were my own."

Sophia did not know what to think.

Her mother closed her eyes and spoke no more.

Thus began the mystery of our grandmother Sophia's origins.

Raised in a Czech household in Salem, Oregon, near the start of the Great War in Europe, she was the youngest of four girls, more than ten years younger than the other sisters.

She had always felt different.

A lingering feeling haunted her that, somehow, she didn’t belong.

Her mother's last words confirmed those feelings.

She asked her father what it all meant:

“So, who was my mother? Where did I come from?”

Papa, in old-world fashion, kept quiet.

Some things were never spoken of.

That’s just the way it was.

Sophia asked everyone she could.

An older boy, a cousin, one day told her:

“You really need to know. There was a terrible accident with horses and a wagon. Only the baby survived.”

“I must have been that baby,” my grandmother told me.

“So, we really don’t know who your parents were, right, Grandma?” my 13-year-old self asked. "Maybe you were someone very special, like Princess Anastasia? Maybe you were rescued from Russia and hidden away in America?”

“Maybe,” said Grandma.

She paused a bit.

“I like to think I was Cherokee.”

That made sense to me. Her love of the land. Her deep dark eyes, her high cheekbones. Her dignified, quiet demeanor. It was as if she had a secret connection with the Great Spirit.

It was easy to imagine how she stole the heart of a much older man, Andrew Harry Hilton, a World War I veteran who married her when she turned 21 and he 45.

He, too, did not speak much of the past.

They had a daughter one year later, who would one day be my mother.

He died just a few short years after his daughter was born.

Lingering lung troubles from German mustard gas in the trenches of France, they said.

"That night was the only time I ever saw my mother cry," my mother once told me.

Sophia was not yet 28, now a widow and a single mom.

Where does one get the strength to go on?

You see her here, pictured above, in her nurse’s uniform, which she sewed herself. Handy with a needle, she made most of the clothes for the household.

She opened a family rest home and took in the elderly and the terminally ill. She worked hard to make a safe and secure future for her daughter and herself.

Some years later, she met a nice fellow named Antone at a town dance, handsome in his uniform, ready to be deployed to another great war in Europe. Before he left, he said:

“I like you so much I think I’d like to ask you to marry me.”

“Well, why don’t you then?” she said to him.

She was, he was to learn, fiercely independent. If they were to marry, they would keep separate bank accounts. The money she earned she spent as she liked. But most of it she saved. You never know what might happen tomorrow.

They made a life together for more than 40 years.

Their example of hard work, frugality, and generosity stays with me to this day.

By the time I knew her, she was my Grandma, and besides the gift of her quiet and kind presence, she often brought us one special gift.

By Wren Meinberg on Unsplash

Peaches.

Yes, fresh peaches. Bushels of them when they were in season.

And homemade canned peaches when the harvest was plentiful. She knew all about canning. As a teenager, she worked in the cannery in Salem. Hard, heavy, hot work, but good work, she said.

A hard worker all her life, she passed away without knowing who her parents were.

Today, we continue her search. We found records showing the birth of Sophia Lillian Yilek in Minnesota in 1912. Yes, it might be her.

But what of the story of the wagon and horses? Could the accident have happened on the Oregon Trail as settlers moved west?

We strive to piece together our history. Small hints. Few facts. Many questions.

We tell stories, trying to understand it all.

But most of all, we tell stories to remember the people we loved.

*

*

In memory of Sophia Lillian Yilek Hilton Wenda

Possibly born in Minnesota in 1912.

Laid to rest in 1990 in Ventura, California.

Rest in Peace

By Ian Baldwin on Unsplash

valueshumanitygrandparents
15

About the Creator

PK Colleran

I love words and their power to enrich our lives.

Editor of bilingual poetry collection Landscape of the Soul by Hipólito Sánchez, published by Cafh Foundation.

Translator of Living Consciously and Words Matter, by Jorge Waxemberg.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Maureen Colleran Battey2 days ago

    Such a beautiful story about our grandmother, Patricia. I will save this for our family’s legacy. It brought back memories I didn’t recall. Especially the canned peaches! Thank you❤️

  • Novel Allen14 days ago

    Beautiful story, Congrats on the win.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    What a great story.

  • A. J. Schoenfeldabout a month ago

    Beautiful tribute. Both of my MIL's grandmother's have similar mysterious origins and we've been trying to find where they came from. I understand the drive to find answers and the frustration in road blocks. Best of luck in your search and congratulations on your runner up win.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Wooohooooo congratulations on your win! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Congrats on the RU placement.

  • Dana Crandellabout a month ago

    Congratulations on Runner Up, PK! I loved Salem's peaches when Pam and I lived there, and all the other produce in that beautiful area, of course. If we'd been able to make a living there, we might have never moved. Wonderful story!

  • Judey Kalchik about a month ago

    Such an intriguing story. May she rest in both peace and peaches.

  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    Ms. Pk - I'm so glad that our Celia introduced us within her new 'Crib'. She has such 'Grace'. We've often spoken re; writers' writing as "them." I'm just a retired self-described 'Goof Writer' out of the loop for contests or rewards. Ya, butt, may I introduce you to - 'Billy' - Reach-Back History 'For The Kids Someday' has been the cross our family has had to bear; snapshots and dog-eared albums just didn't suffice. Ooh, got carried away...! *I've subscribed to read more of your work. Jk Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Beautiful story. Wishing you good luck in your search.

  • Suze Kay2 months ago

    Aw this story was so heartwarming, PK! But also sad. I hope your quest to find her birth identity bears fruit. If you haven't yet considered this, my family had some mysteries that were unraveled by a 23 and Me DNA kit. A lot of secrets were kept by my great grandparents' generation - one of which was a similarly vague deathbed confession. The shameful secret was only that the family had French ancestry lol. But because of 23 and Me, we also discovered the secret child of a dead relative, and met many lovely cousins!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.