Education logo

Job Interview

Lesson 7

By EliasPublished 30 days ago 5 min read
2
  1. What are you looking for in this job?
  2. Present Perfect.
  3. Vocabulary.
  4. Reading.

WHAT ARE YOU LOOKING FOR IN THIS JOB?

Mr Shepherd: Good Morning. I am Shepherd

Sue: Good Morning. My name is Suellen.

Mr Shepherd: How are you doing?

Sue: I am doing fine. Thank you.

Mr Shepherd: Let’s start the interview. Are you ready?

Sue: Yes, I am.

Mr Shepherd: First of all, let me introduce myself. I am the educational counselor. As you know there is an open position for Portuguese Teacher, and I need to fill this position as soon as possible.

Sue: Well, I am from Brazil, I am spending four months in London. And I am looking for a part-time job as a Portuguese teacher. I

Mr Shepherd: That’s great. Tell me a little bit about your experience.

Sue: I have worked as a Portuguese teacher for ten years in Brazil. I also have a post graduation course in Linguistic. I have studied some other languages too.

Mr Shepherd: What are you looking for in this job?

Sue: Well, I love teaching. And I think this is a great opportunity to share my knowledge, teach my language.

Mr Shepherd: Anything else?

Sue: I have never taught portuguese for foreign people. But I have worked with teens and adults.

Mr Shepherd: What languages can you speak?

Sue: Portuguese, of course! I speak Spanish and French. But I am not very fluently in English.

Mr Shepherd: OK. You do not mind working long hours, do you?

Sue: Well, in fact , I am avaiable during the mornings and some evenings. Mr Shepherd: Sue, nice meeting you. We are calling you tomorrow. Thank you for coming.

Sue: Nice meeting you too. Thank you for seeing me.

Actvity 1

READ THE CONVERSATION AND CHECK IF THE SENTENCES ARE TRUE (T) OR FALSE (F)

1. Mr Shepherd is a teacher.

2. Sue is looking for a part-time job.

1. Mr Shepherd is a teacher.

2. Sue can speak English very well.

3. Sue has worked as na English Teacher.

4. Mr Shepherd is Sue’s friend.

5. Sue has worked with children and teens.

6. Sue has never worked with teens.

7. Mr Shepherd needs fo find a Language Teacher.

Activity 2

Practice the conversation with a classmate.

Activity

a) Who is Suellen?

b) What does she do?

c) What are her abilities?

d) Does she have any experience? What kind?

e) Do you think she gets the job? Why?

PRESENT PERFECT

In general, the Present Perfect expresses the idea of a past fact that has some relation to the present at the moment of speaking.

Examples:

• I have worked as a Portuguese teacher.

• She has lived here for a long time.

• I have never taught portuguese for foreign people

• Use 2 of Present Perfect

The Present Perfect is used to describe events that took place in the past at an undetermined time.

Examples:

I have seen aTitanic many times.

She has passed the exams.

Have you lived in New York?

Activity 1

Complete the sentences with the present perfect of the verbs in parentheses.

1) I (work) for a computer company.

2) We (not travel) in Japan yet.

3) I (surf) on the beach.

4) Sue (play) squash tennis.

5) They (not swim) in the sea.

6) Sue (stay) at home today.

7) Beatrice (watch) Gray’s Anatomy twice.

8) My team (win) the game!

9) The teacher (not try) oyster..

10) We (not studied) for our Math test.

11) I (not do) my homework.

12) I (not write) an email.

13) Amy (not go) to school today.

Present Perfect

The Present perfect is used to describe an unfinished past; an action that began in the past and continues to the present.

Examples:

• I have not seen my portuguese teacher lately.

• We haven’t taken a trip to São Paulo this year.

• I have worked a lot this month.

There are several adverbs that can be related to the present perfect:

FOR, SINCE, ALREADY, YET, EVER, e NEVER

For- used to determine the duration of an action that began in the past and is still ongoing. Ex: I have lived here for eight years.

Since- used to determine when an action began in the past, while it is still taking place in the present.

Ex:I have to live here since 2010.

Already- used only in affirmative sentences to talk about something that has already ended in the past with the tone that it ended earlier than expected.

Ex: I have already done my homework yet.

Yet - used in negative and interrogative sentences. In negative sentences, it expresses something that has not yet been done, but there is an intention to do it

In interrogative sentences, the question is whether something has already been done and it is implied that there was an intention to do it or that it was already planned.

Ex: Have you done your homework yet?

Ever - used preferably in questions and refers to any time in the past. It therefore asks whether something has already been done at least once.

Ex: Have you ever eaten Japanese food?

Never - refers to an action that hasn't happened even once, up until the moment of speaking.

Ex: I have never eaten Korean food.

Activity 1

Complete the sentences with correct adverbs:

ALREADY – EVER – NEVER – SINCE – FOR – YET.

1. Elaine has........tried cherries. She thinks she doesn’t like cherries.

2. Beth and Chris have.........English. They’re really prepared for the test tomorrow.

3. I haven’t seen ‘ max steel’.......

4. Have you.........been to Europe?

5. I have studied English........I am a teen.

6. I have studied English.......more than ten years.

Activity 2

1. Make sentences using the present perfect or he simple past of the verbs in the parentheses.

a) YOU/ SEE/ THE GAME LAST NIGHT?

b) Did you see the game last night.

c) YOU EVER / GO/ TO A FOOTBALL MATCH?

d) MY BROTHER/ GRADUATE/SINCE 2000.

e) I/ BUY MY APARTMENTE/ ABOU TEN YEARS AGO.

f) MY ENGLISH TEACHER/ NEVER/ BE/ TO THE USA.

g) MY PARENTS/MOVE/ TO NEW YORK/ IN 2010.

h) WE /HAVE/ OUR ENGLISH TEST/ YET

student
2

About the Creator

Elias

Reading serves as a gateway to knowledge, offering a vast universe of ideas, information, and inspiration waiting to be explored. It is a powerful tool that opens doors, ignites curiosity, and fuels personal and intellectual growth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.