Critique logo

“Wuthering Heights” 📖♥️🪟

“You know that I could as soon forget you as my existence!” (1847)

By Grz ColmPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
55

Possessed hearts,

offer more cruelty than love,

Apparitions knocking at thy window - tap tap, tap,

Hauntingly for all time,

Forever intertwined, both our headstrong Catherine & brooding Heathcliff,

Icicles creep into your soul, barely thawed before the climax.

An androgynous subtext ahead of time,

We are not so different.

PoetryFiction
55

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (35)

Sign in to comment
  • Chloe Gilholy10 months ago

    The book always makes me think of the Kate bush song.

  • Racharoonie10 months ago

    Makes me wanna read it again!

  • JBaz10 months ago

    A very interesting way to present this story critique. I liked it. Congratulations

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    I have not read this book, but know if it and Heathcliffe's infamy. I remember in the 90s that Cliff Richard (when he was considered a goody-two-shoes, played him in the theatre) and love the Kate Bush song. I feel I should read it now after this critique, though. Erm thanks Grz and congrats on an awesome Top Story!

  • E.K. Daniels10 months ago

    Love your interpretation! Huge fan of wuthering heights, and glad to see it get the love it deserves. I did a short critique too if you want to check it out, although mine is more cheeky. Yours for more with how I actually view the story-it’s an underrated gem!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Very clever what you did here. I know nothing about the book but do appreciate poetry. That in itself was interesting. Well done and congrats!

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Very well done. You captured the essence of the story with just a few words. Congrats on Top Story,

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story and Leaderboard placement. 😎🎈🎉

  • Phil Flannery10 months ago

    I really don't like Wuthering Heights. I tried reading it, watching and failed each time. For me the only good thing to come from it was Kate Bush, without that beautiful, crazy song, would she have been discovered. Probably. Thanks for sharing the Josh Pyke version.

  • Rachel Deeming10 months ago

    Essence captured perfectly. I read Wuthering Heights years ago and controversially, found it a really hard read. I knew the story inspired by British TV series and film and Kate Bush, of course, and as a literature graduate, felt I should read the text itself. For me, sorry Emily Brontë, it was turgid; the dialogue was hampering and it disappointed me enormously. I wonder, now I'm older, if I should read it again as I had a similar disappointment with F. Scott Fitzgerald with The Great Gatsby in my twenties but in my forties, read a short story collection by him and found it thoroughly rewarding! Did you know he wrote a short story about Shakespeare suggesting he was a rapist? Anyway, who has time to revisit books read? Do Vocal do a prize for longest comment? If so, surely this is in the running. Thanks, Grz for your great critique which prompted all this!

  • Great Article and Congratulations on your Top Story🎉👌❤️

  • A. Lenae10 months ago

    Ah, beautiful! In the vein of Wuthering Heights, you made this review a winding road of excitement, romance, and coastal turmoil. Well done!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    Gorgeous

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Marvelous!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!💕❤️

  • Such a classic. Catherine and Heathcliff...you actually make me want to read this again with my now more adult eyes and lens of attachment styles in relationships. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    I know nothing of Wuthering Heights, but this was totally fantastic, Grz!! Congrats on the top! 👏🏽💞💫

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    Nicely presented!

  • Test10 months ago

    One of the best we've seen and a well-deserved Top Story!!💙Anneliese

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Very nicely done.

  • This is definitely a case of the critique topping the book, great job

  • Not so very much different.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    I read the book so long ago! Your poem captures the story very well. Kudos!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Your poem is sophisticated and captured the essence completely!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.