Critique logo

Mulholland Drive - 50 word Critique

“It'll be just like in the movies. Pretending to be somebody else.” - Betty (Naomi Watts) written by David Lynch (2001)

By Grz ColmPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
19
A scene from the film

A meta-puzzle-box,

“Sunset Boulevard” allusions,

I don’t know who I am?”

Profoundly horrific,

An hallucinatory indictment of what it takes

to make it big in Hollywood.

Featuring on Top 100 lists around the world (often at number one!)

Such is its lasting power,

Helped cement Naomi Watts

to universal stardom.

Movie
19

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred6 months ago

    Love this movie, great critique

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    I never watched this movie but it sound very interesting from your 50 words critique

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Fantastic critique!!! Haven't seen the movie, but it's now on my watch list!!! Loved this!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Really love Naomi Watts! I've heard of this but never seen it. Amazing review...you've piqued my interest!

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Excellent review, not a clue about the movie. Will watch if I ever find it.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I love Naomi Watts. This is clearly a must see

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Ive not heard of this one - I know, I'm an uncultured swine! 😁

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    An excellent critique, Grz. But I have always found the movie very creepy. I think Laura Harring's role has followed her her entire career! But Naomi Watts, what a fantastic actress! Like Jennifer Connelly, she is still quite underrated.

  • Oooo, I don't even know this movie! Loved your review though! It was excellent!

  • Phil Flannery9 months ago

    Your review explained more than the movie ever said to me. Gotta love Naomi Watts though. Well done.

  • Excellent review of a classic!

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    Now, this I want to see. Your critique draws me in. I wish I had the time to explore more films. I have watched a lot of animations in recent years though. But real adult stuff has been put on the back burner for sooooo long. Great work again, Grz.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby9 months ago

    Love it!! Love the film and your review is top notch

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Great review. I’ll have to check it out.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.