Confessions logo

The Good Daughter

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 18 days ago 3 min read
1
The Good Daughter
Photo by Eye for Ebony on Unsplash

Ms. Mary Black Black Black All dressed in Black Black Black with silver buttons buttons buttons all down her back back back Hazel and Beste why aren't you dress for church said Momma. Momma why do we have to go to church so much? Me and Beste wanna play said Hazel. Not today get on with dressing for church. Both said okay Momma. And Momma kept taking the clothes off the line while dressed like a fox. That's what Daddy used to call her. She had her hair done and her makeup on and her gloves and her hair. Momma was dress to kill. And as me and Beste got in Daddy shouted Girls ya get ready for church. Both said Okay Dad. Come on Beste you help me and I will help you. That's how it was when I was young. Growing up on the farm and learning about life. Did you know? I had to walk two miles to get to school. Yup Momma had to work and Daddy had to work. It was years later when I was in sixth grade and Momma and Daddy had six other children. The worse happened, Momma left. I did not know but I felt something was gonna happen after Daddy pulled me out of school. Something wasn't right. Something had happened. And Dad told me that I would have to work and take care of the family. When I asked where is Momma. He yelled she died somewhere. So I worked and worked and clean after my siblings. I taught them what I learned in school. Beste and my other siblings got to go to school and learn. I was working or cleaning or cooking. I started to grow up and one day Dad looked at me strange. He started acting strange around me. And I just knew I had to leave otherwise something bad might happened. Beste convinced me to go to the club later on. I saw the well dressed men but I was not having it. I like having fun but I am no partier. Then Luther who was fine dress man with slick back hair and a nice smile, he came close to me. I told him that I am a church woman and I do not play that. He whisper jokes in my ear and told me that he thinks he love me. I told him I would think about it. So I went home and Daddy was angry so angry he threatened to kick me out and said I was just like my mother. So I had to work off and promised to do more chores and do better. But Dad went out on trips and I got my chance to meet Luther again and again. I was grown and Luther pleaded to be with me and said we can live up North and far from my Dad and start a life. He told me that I am beautiful and smart and then he gave me this incredible kiss. That's when I wanted to marry him. So Luther told me when my father goes on a trip again to sneak out and he will pick me up about a mile. I waited and kept busy then Dad left and about an hour I got dressed and pack my bags. Just when I was about to leave Beste said Wait sister Daddy doesn't treat anyone of us right. Hazel said But Beste I am the oldest and he is easier on you than me. I am getting old and I want a family. I can't keep being Mom. I have to get a life of my own. And with the suitcase Beste hug me and kiss me on the cheek and I left. Luther and I got married up North and I changed my last name to Mack so Daddy could not find me. We built a family up North and some of my siblings left Dad because they grew up too. And they found me because of Beste and they had families of their own. And they said they saw Momma. And so I went to see Momma in the hospital, I told her I love her and forgive her but I wanted to know why she left us. Momma said Because that man your Dad was mistreating me. And I could not take it anymore. But I am sorry Hazel. And I hug Momma and she died months later in the hospital. Luther and I did not have the perfect marriage but I was not gonna do what my mother did to me to my children. I wanted my children to get an education and become something better and their children and their children.

Family
1

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.