Confessions logo

My friend was dying, and I was "CARELESS" to say goodbye

Concealing her pain to keep our bond unbroken

By Arka SinghaPublished 16 days ago 3 min read
Like
My friend was dying, and I was "CARELESS" to say goodbye
Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

I will always remember "Sheeran" the way she was when we first met in school in 2010. It was fourteen years ago, on the school premises. She was with her partner in crime, and I was with mine. All four of us were lost playing hide and seek, and you won’t believe, from class 3 to 4, we never missed a single day playing hide and seek.

Like, we were the best, I’m telling you, because when it comes to bond, if one of us in our group was unable to come to school due to some personal commitments or health issues, our day would get bad! Time passed, but our bond got stronger.

Now, we stepped into class 4, and now I’m sure you’re thinking that things were not the same as they were. Yes, you’re correct. We four tragically split into 4 sections. But, our bond didn’t split. It’s not like we only hung out with our group; we were good friends with others, but you know they were not meant to be lifelong friends.

I don’t know how to start. It was the rainy season, I don’t remember the exact date because we were not mature enough at that time. And by saying that, don’t judge me with "memories will fade away"; they wouldn’t. People say that they move on, but do we? So, where am I at? Yes, it was raining tremendously that day, and I didn’t go to school that day, but yes, "Sheeran" told the three of us to come yesterday because she wanted to tell us something, but I didn’t come.

The next day, my father dropped me at the school gate, and as I entered the school, I don’t know why I felt so empty, like the surroundings were so weird. When I sat down, Sheeran and my two friends weren’t there. Our teacher came to our class, and I don’t know why there was pin-drop silence that day. "Today, we will not conduct school as we lost our beloved student, Sheeran. May she rest in peace," she announced, and I swear I heard thunder crack in the background. I was devastated, shattered like the pieces of the One Ring.

Somehow, I returned home and got to know from my two friends that "Sheeran" had been battling a rare heart disease, and she wanted to tell us she wouldn't be with us much longer. The only thing she kept from us was to carry on as normal because Sheeran didn’t want her disease to ruin our bond.

Days turned into weeks, weeks into months, but the pain of Sheeran's absence lingered, a constant reminder of what once was. The hide and seek games we once played with abandon now seemed like distant memories, fading into the background of our grief-stricken minds.

It was like trying to reassemble the Avengers without Iron Man. "Sheeran" was the heart and soul of our group, and without her, it just wasn't the same.

But amidst the sorrow, a glimmer of hope emerged. Sheeran's spirit, vibrant and alive, seemed to linger in the air, guiding us through the darkest of days. And so, we vowed to honor her memory, to live each day with the same joy and zest for life that she had embodied.

Though she may be gone, her presence remains etched in our hearts, a beacon of light in the darkest of nights. And as we stand together, united by the bond we shared, we know that Sheeran's legacy will live on, forever and always.

And, you know when we lost her we stopped playing hide and seek cause we actually will not find you anymore!

Rest in peace, dear "Sheeran", you were truly one of a kind.

Teenage yearsSchoolFriendshipChildhood
Like

About the Creator

Arka Singha

Let go of insecurities, they don't matter!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.