Confessions logo

My Art Teacher Was The First Person to Make Me Feel Uncomfortable About My Body

She should have never commented on my body

By Jade M.Published 5 months ago 3 min read
6

I was a teenager at a time when the media was especially cruel to women. Celebrities like Jessica Simpson and Britney Spears were shamed for their bodies if they dared to gain even a small amount of weight. These celebrities were often more slim than the average woman or teenage girl, so seeing them being body-shamed hurt some of the girls I knew.

I can still remember one of my friends crying about her body when we were in sixth grade. When we asked her what was wrong, she said she didn’t feel skinny enough, and it made her feel bad to see someone thinner than her. I never knew what made her feel that way, but I’m sure it was a mixture of the way the media portrayed women and how we witnessed adults discussing their bodies.

I’d like to say that I never felt self-conscious about my own body, but there were times when I didn’t feel as confident as I should have. I was always a bit on the small side, but no one ever commented on my body. I was one of the lucky few who could eat whatever I wanted without gaining weight because of how active I was.

When I was a teenager, I started a new medicine that made it difficult for me to gain weight. The medicine ended up causing me to lose weight. I didn’t notice the weight loss until my art teacher brought it to my attention.

My art teacher was a short, stout, woman with curly hair that she wore in a pixie-style haircut. She often wore quirky outfits, like denim overalls with wild prints and oversized earrings. She seemed kind on the surface, but she had very little patience for the students who lacked talent. She wanted our work to be perfect, so she rarely found beauty in imperfections.

It wasn’t unusual for her to crouch down at a student’s desk and comment on whatever project they were working on, so I didn’t find it odd when she came over to talk to me. Unfortunately, what she said was about my appearance instead of my art project.

“If you lose any more weight, I’m going to call your mother,” she said.

I was too shocked to respond, but that didn’t matter because she was gone before I could reply. I wondered if there was something wrong with my body. There must have been something wrong with me if my teacher took time out of her day to talk to me about it. Not only did she take time out of her day to comment on my body, she threatened to call my mother.

I spent the next few days looking in the mirror and wondering if I was too skinny. Was I unattractive because of my size? I wasn’t one of the more popular kids, and now I found myself wondering if my size had anything to do with it. I know now that my size had nothing to do with who I was as a person or who my friends were. I even realized that there was nothing wrong with my size, and the teacher shouldn’t have brought it to my attention.

Her words have stuck with me for years, even now that I’m no longer thin. If I could see her again, I would ask her why she felt it was appropriate to bring attention to my body in a negative way.

Now that I’m older I know that she would have approached me differently if she wanted to help me. She would have asked me about my weight loss in a gentle way, and not made me feel like there was something wrong with my body.

Embarrassment
6

About the Creator

Jade M.

Jade is an indie author from Louisiana. While her first book failed, she has plans to edit and republish it and try again. She has a senior min pin that she calls her little editor, and a passion for video games and makeup.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer5 months ago

    Some adults really don't know HOW to talk to people. It is NOT an excuse or even a reason but I believe that they shouldn't be in certain professions, and that is one of them in my humble view. Some teachers have scarred children for life. You can have an "off day," feel strong emotions about something, and/or confusion, and still be respectful. It utilises some things called compassion, self-restraint, and consideration for others. And I guarantee, it is not rocket science. I'm truly saddened by what happened to you and wish you continued and complete healing.

  • Phil Flannery5 months ago

    An adult, especially a teacher, who is supposed to be guiding you to adulthood, should know better, should be better. My two daughters couldn't be more different in stature and it never comes up in conversation. Having said that, I don't know what they've had to endure till now. My eldest has type one diabetes and she struggles to keep weight on as the disease is affected by so many factors. I know people question her and stare, and if they say anything, she tells them what for. I'm glad you published this. It is sad you had to. The media are predatory, always looking for something to write about.

  • I completely agree with Cathy on this. If she was concerned about your health she should have talked with you about it. If she was commenting on your appearance it was none of her business. The media disgusts me how it treats women

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Sorry that you had to go through that with the teacher. If she was worried about your health she should have found a better way to approach the topic. If she was just commenting on your appearance, it's none of her business. Nicely written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.