Confessions logo

My abuse story

Trigger Warning: The story talks about Abuse

By James bergeron Published 3 months ago 3 min read
5
My abuse story
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Trigger warning: this story will talk about abuse.

Hello, This story will be about the abuse that I took from my real father Firstly I would never condone abuse on anyone. Abuse is a hell of a thing it affects someone's life and messes up their whole life just like it messed up my life.

To start I was verbally, mentally, and emotionally abused by my real father. My real father abused me till I was 19 years old and the abuse got worse after my dad had a stroke which caused him to become extremely violent but that will be a different story on its own.

When my dad would verbally abuse me he would call me a lot of mean and hurtful things to me. His favorite thing to call me was stupid which he called me very frequently when he would get mad at me when I would make a mistake. Instead of telling me what I did wrong and showing me the right way to do it, he would just get mad at me then he would start screaming and yelling at me instead of explaining what he wanted done then he would call me stupid. The most hurtful thing that my dad ever said to me was that I was a mistake and that I should have never been born that was one of the most heartful things he ever said to me.

Being abused by my dad affected me and to this day it still affects me at times because of what he did. Because of the abuse that I took from my dad I suffer from depression as well as anxiety because of the stuff he would call me or say to me even though my dad passed away in 2015. There are still times to this day that I can still hear very clearly the stuff he would say to me when he would get angry at me especially when things aren't going well. When I feel myself slipping into a depressive episode from the abuse I took I have to work hard to not allow myself to get depressed from it to do this I will either try to think of something completely different, or I will watch some funny videos to try to make myself laugh, as well as I will talk to my friends. Sometimes the methods I listed will work for me and help me but at other times they don't help at all so I end up slipping into depression which takes me a couple of days to come out of.

I would never wish for anyone to be abused just because of how bad it is and how bad it can mess up someone's life. I wanted to wright this to share my story of what happened to me in hopes that it might help someone else who went through the same things as I did in hopes that will help to encourage them to share their story of what happened to them.

If this story has helped you please let me know in the comments section of this story and also please feel free to share your stories as well if you would feel comfortable to share your story with others.

I will also include some resources for anyone else who has had to deal with the same experiences that I had to go through in hopes that they will get the help they need.

1-800-799-7233 - this is the number for the National Domestic Violence Hotline

www. rainn.org - Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN)

CONTENT WARNING
5

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    Such a brave piece and kind to share in the hoe of helpinng others deaung with similar x Take care 🤍

  • Whoaaaa, your father said you should have never been born?! Well then, he should have learnt to keep it in his pants, or at least used protection!! How dare he abuse you for the consequences of his actions? He is the one who should have never been born!! I'm so sorry but reading this made me so furious! I hate people like this! I'm so sorryyyyy for what you have gone through James 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I'm sorry you were out through this.

  • Rene Peters3 months ago

    I'm proud of you for sharing this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.