Chapters logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Law School Murders: Trials and Tribulations

Kim holds a question and answer period.

By Skyler SaundersPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Like
Law School Murders: Trials and Tribulations
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

The wound from her pen knife attack itched a bit. Kim didn’t scratch, though. She attended another talk and Q&A.

“And that’s when I knew that this was more serious than I thought. I had to really understand how the entire story would play out. When I was in my cell, I dedicated time to being more studious. In my free time, I perused the jail library. I look up books on law.”

By Clarisse Meyer on Unsplash

“It took every fiber of my being to not burst into tears. Yes, it is possible for Kim Jergensen to cry. Don’t believe the rumors.” Some laughs. “But anyway, I fixated on the law books and turned my attention to cases that were similar to mine. With the help of my lawyer Brenda, presto changeo not guilty ruling. Thank you.”

Applause and whoops rose up from the crowd. The interviewer pointed out there was time for questions.

“Yes, Miss Jergensen, did you ever feel the need to get revenge against the cleaner lady and the guard?”

By Dmitrij Paskevic on Unsplash

“For what? They ruined their own lives when they murdered Naomi and Susan. I hold no hatred or grudge against anyone. I know they’re living in a controlled environment much like the place they worked. I just see the irony of it all.”

“Thank you.”

Another woman stepped to the mic. “During this latest case with the sentencing of the young man, do you have more information on what happened and your involvement?”

“The short answer is no. I can’t discuss it because of the state of the case. I will say, however, that there is justice in the ruling. I didn’t see it coming but I’m glad it did.”

“We have time for one more question.”

By Melinda Gimpel on Unsplash

“What is the best part out of all of your experiences? You’ve seen highs and lows. What stands out as being the most advantageous to you?”

“I think about my friendship. She is a unique individual who has carried me through this entire process from the QR Code Murders to today. She’s always been supportive and never second-guessed me or undermined me. She is a very special person that I can’t reveal her identity to all of you. Just keep watching her videos. I think you know who I’m talking about, her username is Dealaware302. She’s got over a billion views while never showing her face. She has eleven million subscribers and I’m selfishly proud to know and love her.” The crowd reached for their phones and tapped Yawquisha’s latest video. It was a tribute to Kim.

“Can we get it on the screen?”

“Someone, use their phone to enable the SuperPlay to air it on the big screen.”

In seconds a modulated voice and distorted face appeared on the screen above the stage.

By Iñaki del Olmo on Unsplash

“Hi, I’m Dealaware302. You have just listened to one of the most fascinating, authentic and passionate people in the world. Kim was there as my mentor during the rides along in Wilmington. We developed a personal relationship but she remained professional with her job. She never relented and through her literal trials and tribulations, she stood out amongst everyone else. She demonstrated that you can be cool and sexy in your work. She nabbed bad guys, served as an investigator in her own case, and developed a friendship that will last forever. She is the epitome of what it means to be a consummate human being. If there were any cop deserving of the Maynard Award, it would be her. The way she carries herself is above normal people and she should be commended. Now go out into the lobby and buy her book!”

FictionCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have an audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.