Chapters logo

Day in the life of a Plus-Size Sales Stylist

Helping women gain confidence

By Alexis MundyPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
3

I work for Taking Shape as a Sales Stylist and I must admit I have learnt a lot about body confidence, and also the best ways to style women to show off their amazing curves. Being plus-size myself I have always had issues with confidence, of being able to make the most of myself through my choice of clothes alongside how to wear them to accentuate my body to its best advantage. Above all I have learnt so much about other women and of how some excude confidence whilst others need more reassurance.

Our store is popular because it really cares about women and the best feeling is seeing someone walk out of our store with a smile on their face. As soon as a woman walks in we welcome them and show interest in their day. Yes of course our job is to sell but building rapport and showing a genuine interest is what is needed in being a stylist. In other words you have to have passion for what you do. Because if you don't our customers can tell because of a stylists demeanour. We get to meet people from all over New Zealand and often other countries too. I love seeing the eclectic tastes of our ladies. They really do look amazing and you can tell our regular ones apart as not only are they often wearing our clothes but they also come in with a confident walk.

We have such a wide variety of bright colours as well as the usual dark colours. Being plus-sized is not about looking invisible in dour colours but of standing out loud and proud! When my parents were in their 50s and 60s they looked their ages now we have ladies coming in their 70s and 80s looking beautiful without looking too young! We even have personal styling sessions where clients can book in for a free consultation with a stylis alongside a free coffee or tea. It is lovely to see them all dressed up, and is a great boost to confidence as well as giving them tips on what clothes suits their shape. We have five body shape: Straight Shape, Round Shape, Inverted Triangle, Pear Shape and Hour-Glass Shape. As stylists what we aim to do is help to dress women to look more of an Hour-Glass shape. But what we really want is for them to feel fabulous in whatever they choose. If we are asked which size or style is better we are always honest but the final decision is theirs. Our goal is to help. I love seeing their smile as they look in the mirror when they find an outfit that they love.

I have been working as a Sales Stylist for two months and I still have a lot to learn, but I look forward to going into work and seeing the team who are great. Our regular customers are lovely and we get to know them personally from the rapport that we have built with them over time. Every person who walks in the door are our priority and we work together to enhance the enjoyment of all our clothes including the visual display which always looks impeccable thanks to our VM. I also love welcoming new ladies and hopefully getting to know them. Of course we have a customer now and again that can be a little more difficult , but the majority are lovely and working in sales we are used to working with all sorts of people.

We also have events that customers are invited to where we have models showing off the clothes, drink and nibbles. Our team and the customers really enjoy this and it gives them a chance to see the clothes on different body shapes and sizes too. We have one in November which we are planning for and these events happen in all the stores at different points in time. I like to think of our store as like a family who through the good and bad times.

Working in this job for me is a passion in that I like helping people achieve the look they want, where they can talk to us and know we realy do care about them as individuals and each person is as important as the last. I love hearing about their lives and families and knowing I am doing something good. I am lucky I love my work and look forward to each time I am there. Finding one's passion in life is important whatever that may be. I am 65 so only do a few hours a week but the social element is what makes my week. Its not easy being in retail but I personally love it and look forward to many more days to come!

Alexis Mundy

.

.

Biography
3

About the Creator

Alexis Mundy

I am originally from the UK. Now living in New Zealand. My life so far has been a rollercoaster. I have children with special needs, lost my previous husband in 2008 and in 2021 my son Andrew died. Writing has and is cathartic for me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist7 months ago

    Great story. Thank you for what you do 💕❤️

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    You should be confident! You deserve the best!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.