Chapters logo

An Old Intern

Younger Than I Will Be Tomorrow!

By C. H. RichardPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
12
An Old Intern
Photo by Unseen Studio on Unsplash

There is a Bonnie Raitt song, Angels from Montgomery that has the first line,

“I am an old woman.”

That song and that line has been rumbling around in my head this week as I have started grad school for my masters in social work at the age of fifty-seven.

I have gotten some raised eyebrows and a few sympathetic “Good for you!” pats on the back.

A few colleagues have questioned not “why?” but rather “why at your age?”

Why would I attempt this?

What does it matter?

Why take on that cost? That stress?

A couple of well-intentioned friends have tried to get me to reconsider.

Yet I’m still moving forward with a plan that I have wanted for my future long ago.

Why because I am old woman and tomorrow, I will be an older woman.

Yes, I close my eyes at the debt and will have to hope this additional degree will pay off financially. However, I am seeking further knowledge because I want to be better equipped to help those in need.

Yes, the stress, but the stress of staying in the same job where there is no future worries me more.

The time commitment I have already learned after my first week is extensive. I will need to make sure I am still able to lead a fulfilling well rounded purposeful life while going to school and working full time. I will need to make sure I am still building time for life and those I love. I don’t want to resent this journey. I want to embrace it with gusto of the young me who wanted this dream.

This is the middle chapter in my memoir. The me that had a plan and continued whether others said it was the right thing to do or not.

I haven’t seen the movie “The Intern” but a few people have told me about it. Robert Dinero is a seventy-year-old intern who has attended school late in life. I think in reality when I start doing internships, it will be interesting to see if I constantly have to defend going back to school when in another ten years I will be retiring. Bring it on, I’m ready.

When I went to pick up my books I stood out like a sore thumb. Yes I am getting a sweatshirt too! Bring it on!

Yes, I am an old woman, and I will be some organizations very experienced intern.

This is the point in my memoir where I get ready for the second half. I am a strong believer that age is just a number. Now my achy bones may say different, but really there is only this one life we have to live. Why not get everything out of it that we can, achy bones and all. I have always done everything on a different time- table. I got married at forty-two, bought our first house at fifty-two when I became a fur baby mom for the first time. Age really is just a number. I love this meme.

“You know those things you wanted to do; you should do them!”

I still plan to continue my writing journey as well. Writing brings me so much joy. I have committed to myself that I will need it to manage the stress of being an old student. I also still want my novel to be published so I just will do both.

I am an old woman who is giving herself a second chance at the position and degree she deserves. This old woman will still be a fur baby mom, a wife, sister, friend, writer and now I will be a student who is younger than she will ever be again

I do not own rights to this music. Here is the song, Angel From Montgomery by Bonnie Raitt for your enjoyment!

Thank you for reading!

MemoirAutobiography
12

About the Creator

C. H. Richard

My passion is and has always been writing. I am particularly drawn to writing fiction that has relatable storylines which hopefully keep readers engaged

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    I love that - younger than you will ever be again 😁

  • First of all good for you! I enjoyed reading every bit of this. I am an optimist and dreamer and believe it’s never too late. Also I love I mean I love love the song Angel from montgomery!

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    Go Cindy Go! YAY!🎉 How exciting & empowering! I can't wait to hear about what you learn along your grad school journey as well as see you beaming in your graduation pictures! This piece was very inspiring Cindy! Congrats!🎉

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    Great song! It’s never too late to follow a dream. I admire your tenacity. Although once you publish the memoir, you’ll be on easy street. Keep receipts so you can write off the education as research!

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    I think it’s great you are going back to get your masters degree. ♥️🥳My favorite movie is life of the Party, where Melissa McCarthy went back to college with her daughter. I always wanted to start a nonprofit and having a social work degree is very helpful .

  • Whoaaa Cindy, I applaud and admire you for doing this! I completed my degree when I was 24 and said to myself, no more studying, lol! What you're doing is soooooo wowwww for me! Gosh you're truly amazing! I wish you all the best! Please always make sure you have enough rest and eat on time!

  • While I was in seminary I knew a woman who decided to get her M. Div. after retiring from a long, rich career in nursing. While there she was diagnosed with cancer--aggressive, no treatments did anything than perhaps give her a few more days & a lot of discomfort. She knew she would never be ordained, never serve a church, but when people asked her why she persisted she answered that it was something to which she was called & something she wanted to do. She completed all her classes, dying in the hospital the day before graduation. And most of us who knew her even only slightly still tend to think of her often & are inspired. You go get 'em, Cindy! Best of wishes in this next chapter on your journey. And BTW, "The Intern" is a wonderful heartwarming movie.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    love this

  • Lynda Spargur9 months ago

    Love this! I too am an old woman returning to school. In October I will begin my journey to get my Masters in Communications. Such a timely piece for me. Thank you for sharing and good luck!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Cindy, you are correct age is just a number!!! Loved this line, "Yes, the stress, but the stress of staying in the same job where there is no future worries me more." Go, girl!!!

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    I love this CH! Ive had the same thoughts recently as someone who has been self-employed/unemployed for a while. Our society is rly not great at seeing the whole person and the value that life experience brings. Age is just a number, but also, ur age is awesome! Wishing u luck ❤️🩷

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.