BookClub logo

Review of 'Winterkeep'

Winterkeep follows Bitterblue on a journey into politics, mystery, and betrayal.

By Cyn's WorkshopPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
Like

While an interesting novel, Winterkeep does a lot of world-building and exposition, making this a challenge.

Storytelling

I’ve never been one to wait until a series is complete before I begin a book. I have a good memory of what happens from book to book, so I read books when they are published.

However, Winterkeep made me understand why so many readers will wait until the series is complete.

Winterkeep relies heavily on world-building. It takes the reader to another part of the kingdom, rebuilding the world for the reader. There is definitely a lot of info dumping throughout the novel that slows down its pace.

I like it when authors trickle in world-building and history throughout the story, but for it to work, it has to be done well. Cashore does pages and paragraphs of it that became more tedious and boring than anything else.

And while I don’t mind when novels shift between characters (personally, I love it because I think it adds more to the story), the shifts here were jarring. There was something off about the characters and the story’s tone. It all sounded the same. This might be due to the audiobook nature of the book. Mind you, I began reading the physical copy of the book. Still, I struggled so much with it that I figured the audiobook would be better.

While the story had adventure and fantasy, it was so bogged down by exposition that I found it boring. And the lack of personality characterization didn’t make me care about the characters.

Final Thoughts

I wish I could say more about Winterkeep, but unfortunately, the novel was disappointing. It wasn’t that it was a bad novel or anything. Personally, I found the story dragging, the plot slow, and overall, it struggled to hold my attention.

  • Writing Quality : 7/10
  • Character Development : 7/10
  • "Couldn't Put It Down"-ness : 5/10
  • Intellectual Depth: 9/10
  • Originality: 10/10
  • Overall Rating: 3 out of 5.

Like this review?

Don’t forget to follow Cyn’s Workshop on Facebook | Instagram | TikTok | Twitter | Tumblr | Spotify | YouTube | BookBub | Goodreads | LinkedIn to stay tuned for future reviews.

About the Author

Cynthia Bujnicki graduated from Emerson College with a BA in Writing, Literature and Publishing. She has always loved to read since she was a child. A contributing writer for YA Fantasy Addicts, she is also the Editor-in-Chief for Cyn's Workshop. She lives in sunny

RecommendationReview
Like

About the Creator

Cyn's Workshop

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.