Beat logo

Your Spooky Playlist Has Arrived

Terrifying tunes or motivational melodies? Press 'play' to find out.

By Emily BergerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Your Spooky Playlist Has Arrived
Photo by Łukasz Nieścioruk on Unsplash

I’ll be honest: I hate Halloween.

I’m all for strolling through pumpkin patches and devouring buckets of chocolate, but the rest of it can go.

As a child, dressing up as some sort of creature and having to knock on strangers' doors was a unique form of torture (even if they did offer me candy in return). Not to mention the fear that comes along with the holiday: the scary talking skeletons, the human-sized spiders, the claw that would grab you when you stuck your hand in to get a Reese’s…..no thanks.

Then you reach late middle school, where trick-or-treating is replaced by horror movie marathons. Again, not my cup of black tea.

And thennnn we reach high school and college. What does Halloween mean? Parties (and, somehow, even more costumes than childhood required). But there is one thing that can make those Halloween parties fun and memorable instead of dreary and depressing (besides spooky themed snacks), and that’s the music.

So here’s a list of the top 13 songs needed if you’re going to throw a mystical and monster-filled bash of the season.

"Heads Will Roll" - Yeah Yeah Yeahs (A-Trak Remix)

Surprisingly, this is the song that comes to mind when I think of Halloween. Not only did I have to dance to this song in front of my entire high school (a spooky scene in itself), it has that perfect Halloween party vibe to it, putting it at the top of my list.

"Black Magic" - Little Mix

I don't care what time of the year it is, this song is a BOP. And it also maaaay have been our getting-ready song in college, because nothing hypes you up like a high-energy melody with these lyrics:

Take a sip of my secret potion

I'll make you fall in love

For a spell that can't be broken

One drop should be enough

"Panic Room" - Au/Ra

This song not only has Halloween vibes, but it's hella relatable too. I mean who hasn't been filled with so much panic at some point that they feel like they're going crazy? The music video is sure to give you the creeps, too.

"Like the Zombies Do" - Zombies 2 Cast

Is this song from a Disney Channel movie? Yes. Does it give me feel-good zombie vibes instead of scary-ominous ones? Also yes. I definitely recommend singing along.

Brush your fangs when you wake up

Comb your hair, do your make up

Sleep at night, don't stay up

Do it like the zombies do

"Disturbia" - Rihanna

It's not a party without Rihanna. The beat, the lyrics....it's just a power classic. You're sure to feel like impending doom is just ahead! But, you know, in a good way.

"Harry Potter" - Trap Remix

So even though I said earlier that I hate watching spooky movies, I'll always make an exception for Harry. Imagine the classic Harry Potter theme song drank a few cups of coffee and got a fun makeover from a DJ, and this is the result.

"Oh Devil" - Electric Guest

This song makes you want to bust out all the sleek dance moves you didn't know you had. (I heard this song for the first time while watching Netflix's Atypical - it blasts during Casey's birthday party, and flock to the dance floor is exactly what she does.)

"Somebody's Watching Me" - Chico Rose x 71 Digits (Bancali Remix)

A very loved classic, but with a twist. This song will never not be a Halloween necessity.

When I'm in the shower I'm afraid to wash my hair

'Cause I might open my eyes and find someone standing there

People say I'm crazy, just a little touched

But maybe showers remind me of Psycho too much

"2 Heads" - Coleman Hell

There's hardly any spook in this song, but it's still a dance-around-the-room-with-some-monster-vibes jam. It's one that's sure to get stuck in your head for all of October.

"Spooky, Scary Skeletons" - Andrew Gold (Undead Tombstone Remix)

Quirky, ghostly, eerie, energizing....I could go on. Truly a Halloween must-play (that might even go on repeat).

Spooky, scary skeletons

Send shivers down your spine

Shrieking skulls will shock your soul

Seal your doom tonight

"Glory and Gore" - Lorde

Lorde has always given me spooky vibes - her aura could basically be summarized as witchy power mixed with ominous royalty. If a Lorde hit isn't on your Halloween playlist, will your party even be smash?

"Werewolf" - Quinn XCII

I love a good Quinn XCII song, and there are never-ending spooky season mentions in this one. Werewolf vibes + a catchy tune = party success!

Lately I feel like the living dead

But secretly I hope it never, ever, ever ends

"Stranger Things (Remix)" - Kubi & Captain Jack

A little Stranger Things remix for (un)lucky number thirteen. Because I truly can't think of anything scarier than pretending you're partying in the Upside Down.

Check out the full playlist below! And happy Halloween!

playlist
3

About the Creator

Emily Berger

Writer, editor, artist, dog mom, lover of chocolate and all things humor.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.