Beat logo

My Modern 80s Playlist

No one can just get enough of it

By Samantha ParrishPublished about a month ago 3 min read
3

As someone who grew up with 80s music. I have been accustomed to the genre. I wasn’t even four years old before my mother sat me on the couch and played Pat Benatar, Bonnie Tyler, Natalie Cole, and the list goes on. My mother is the reason I got into 80s music and she's also the reason I raided her CD collection (Sorry Mom).

And my love of the 80s just grew and I found other bands to add to my 80s music collection. Modern Talking, Secret Service, Yazoo--to add to the collection. My heart will always belong to a decade that I never grew up with, but now others are taking musical inspiration from the 80s and making modern-day 80s songs.

Now I get that moment to enjoy the 80s songs in my own decade.

Keep Your Eyes Peeled by Ultra Sunn

When I listen to a song that has a beat that hits all the right notes for me, I stop to get my headphones on to fully immerse in the song. The last time I had to stop what I was doing to listen to a song on my headphones was After Dark by Mr.Kitty. I knew within the first moments of listening to this song I knew I’m never gonna get that first experience again...I need to utilize every second I can. This band feels like the love child of New Order and Depeche Mode. The song feels very reminiscent of many of the 80s songs that I listen to while also breathing new life as a song that can stand on its own.

Beacons by Memory Design Ft. Chris Hutton

I first heard a sample of this song on an Instagram ad. The sample was enough to get me to come back to buy the song when it was released on Dec. 26th. Now I listen to Beacons weekly. To me it’s more than just an 80s song, it is a rejuvenating anthem for those who feel lost in life. I enjoy it for the feel that puts me right in the decade of the 80s, but I also take comfort in its message that no one is alone on their path. I feel like I can participate in a decade that I was not born into but I feel like I can get a flicker of that, Memory Design provides that flicker.

Infatuation by Trevor Something

If I had a nickel for every time I mentioned this anonymous artist, I would be rich beyond my wildest dreams. But his music has blessed my ear to so I'll take that over being rich any day. If I need an artist that I know provides every crumb of an 80s vibe, it’s Trevor Something. Infatuation is one of the pinnacles of his discography, and that’s due to the sample of Blue Monday by new order. The title of the song is appropriate because it’s hard not to be infatuated with this song.

Caroline by Michael Angeloux

I know I like a song if it gets stuck in my head for a week. Caroline lives RENT FREE in my head and I have Michael Angeloux to thank for it. The song gives vibes of Pet Shop Boys & Prince. It feels like the embodiment of many 80s songs within the song of Caroline. I can’t get enough of Caroline, it’s what I’m looking for when it comes to finding 80s-inspired songs. It makes the checkmark on every box: the tune, the lyrics, everything. I feel like I went into the DeLorean back in 1985 and Michael Angeloux took me there. It's a song that makes you feel like you’re at a party that you just never wanna leave. And that party’s name is Caroline.

(Psst, there’s also a remix of the song and collaboration with the artist that I just mentioned in my last song slot)

popplaylistnew wavelistindieelectronicadancebandshistorytechnosynthsong reviewssocial mediaalternative80s music
3

About the Creator

Samantha Parrish

What's something interesting you always wanted to know?

Instagram: parrishpassages

tiktok: themysticalspacewitch

My book Inglorious Ink is now available on Amazon!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.