Beat logo

โ™ช โ“‚แตƒ๏ฝ„๐ง๐”ผโ“ˆ๐”ฐ ๐•šโ“ƒ ๐Œ๐•ฆโ“ˆ๐”ฆ๐•”! โ™ช

๐“๐ž๐ง ๐’๐จ๐ง๐ ๐ฌ ๐š๐›๐จ๐ฎ๐ญ ๐Œ๐š๐๐ง๐ž๐ฌ๐ฌ!

By ๐‘๐Œ ๐’๐ญ๐จ๐œ๐ค๐ญ๐จ๐งPublished 29 days ago โ€ข Updated 27 days ago โ€ข 5 min read
Top Story - April 2024
20
๐ˆ๐ฆ๐š๐ ๐ž ๐œ๐ซ๐ž๐š๐ญ๐ž๐ ๐ฐ๐ข๐ญ๐ก ๐€๐ˆ ๐“๐จ๐จ๐ฅ๐ฌ ๐š๐ญ ๐๐ข๐ ๐ก๐ญ๐‚๐š๐Ÿ๐ž.๐’๐ญ๐ฎ๐๐ข๐จ

To go along with the March Madness Theme, I am closing out the month with 10 of my favorite songs about MADNESS!

NOTE: This was rejected for word count, so I am amending the story to add some selected song lyrics for each selection.

Basket Case by Green Day

Green Day actually had a few pieces in contention, but Basket Case just HAD to be included! It is about anxiety attacks and a feeling that you are going crazy.

โ€œSometimes I give myself the creeps

Sometimes my mind plays tricks on me

It all keeps adding up

I think Iโ€™m cracking up

Am I just paranoid?

Or am I just stoned?โ€

Crazy by Gnarls Barkley

This is another tune that absolutely could not be left off this list! Weโ€™re all a bit crazy when seen through each otherโ€™s eyes.

โ€œI remember when

I remember, I remember when I lost my mind

There was something so pleasant about that place

Even your emotions have an echo in so much spaceโ€

Crazy Train by Ozzy Osbourne

Crazy Train is the classic CRAZY song and includes one of the greatest guitar riffs in music history. The song is actually about the madness of the Cold War which plagued the era.

ALL ABOARD!

โ€œMental wounds not healing

Lifeโ€™s a bitter shame

Iโ€™m going off the rails on a Crazy Trainโ€

Mad World by Gary Jules

It was a difficult choice between this more somber cover or the original Tears for Fears classic. I am a big TFF fan. The songs are like opposite sides of the same coin, but the Gary Jules version truly captures the downbeat, depressive madness of this world and that feeling of being alienated.

We are trapped in a mundane and circular routine, the daily grind of living, and it has sucked the sanity right out of the world. What hope is there of coming to terms with your own sanity when the whole world has gone mad and is running in circles? What does it suggest about life when the dreams in which youโ€™re dying are best youโ€™ve ever had? (Very Freudian)

โ€œAnd I find it kinda funny, I find it kinda sad

The dreams in which Iโ€™m dying are the best Iโ€™ve ever had

I find it hard to tell you, I find it hard to take

When people run in circles, itโ€™s a very, very

Mad world, mad worldโ€

Disturbia by Rihanna

โ€œDisturbiaโ€ was co-written by Rihannaโ€™s then-boyfriend and fellow recording artist, Chris Brown. In an interview, Rihanna described the song as being about the general feelings of mental anguish, anxiety and confusion.

โ€œNo more gas in the rig

(Canโ€™t even get it started)

Nothing heard, nothing said

(Canโ€™t even speak about it)

All my life on my head

(Donโ€™t want to think about it)

Feels like Iโ€™m going insane, yeah.

Itโ€™s a thief in the night to come and grab you

It can creep up inside you and consume you

A disease of the mind, it can control you

Itโ€™s too close for comfort.โ€

Crazy on You by Heart

โ€œCrazy on Youโ€ was released in 1976 by Heart, led by sisters Ann and Nancy Wilson. The Vietnam War had recently ended, and, not unlike today, it was a time of great political and civil unrest. According to Nancy Wilson, this was a call to your partner: โ€œI know the world is just insanely crazy here right now. But I just want us to go crazy together. To let it all just fall away so itโ€™s only just you and me here!โ€ (Or cast in todayโ€™s terms, let us be one anotherโ€™s safe space to go crazy.)

โ€œWild manโ€™s world is cryinโ€™ in pain

What you gonna do when everybodyโ€™s insane?

So afraid of one whoโ€™s so afraid of you

What you gonna do?

Ooh, crazy on you

Crazy on you

Let me go crazy, crazy on youโ€

Mad Hatter by Melanie Martinez

The phrase โ€œMad Hatterโ€ is often used to describe an eccentric or erratic person. Mercury poisoning was prevalent in 18th and 19th Century hatmakers due to their prolonged exposure to toxic mercury fumes, leading to the term โ€˜Mad Hatters Diseaseโ€™. The โ€˜Mad Hatterโ€™ is also a character in Lewis Carrollโ€™s 1865 fantasy novel โ€œAliceโ€™s Adventures in Wonderlandโ€. This song reminds us that it is okay to be comfortable with who you are. Embrace your unique individuality. ALL the best people are crazy!

โ€œIโ€™m peeling the skin off my face

โ€˜Cause I really hate being safe

The normals, they make me afraid

The crazies, they make me feel sane

Iโ€™m nuts, baby, Iโ€™m mad

The craziest friend that youโ€™ve ever had

. . .

So what if Iโ€™m crazy? . . .

All the best people are crazyโ€

Insane in the Brain by Cypress Hill

โ€œInsane in the Membraneโ€ was a gang term used by the Bloods and Crips as an informal insanity plea upon arrest. It was one of the first songs I thought of when I was compiling this list.

Insane in the membrane

Insane in the brain

Insane in the membrane

Insane in the brain

Insane in the membrane

Crazy insane, got no brain

Insane in the membrane

Insane in the brain

Unwell by Matchbox Twenty

In an interview, Matchbox Twenty lead singer, Rob Thomas, said: โ€œUnwell is about having a despondent relationship with yourself. In the end, itโ€™s a positive song, because you come to terms with the fact youโ€™re not crazyโ€ (just a little unwell).

โ€œAll day starinโ€™

at the ceilinโ€™ makinโ€™

Friends with shadows on my wall

All night hearing voices tellinโ€™ me

That I should get some sleep

Because tomorrow might be good for somethinโ€™

Hold on, feelinโ€™ like Iโ€™m headed for a breakdown

And I donโ€™t know why

But Iโ€™m not crazy, Iโ€™m just a little unwell

I know, right now you canโ€™t tell

But stay a while and maybe then youโ€™ll see

A different side of meโ€

Donโ€™t Give Up by Peter Gabriel (with Kate Bush)

I will finish this list on a much more serious note. I have played on the theme of Madness for March, but mental health is no laughing matter. If you are struggling with issues in your life, know that you are NOT alone. This is our community; here you are surrounded by friends. PLEASE reach out. You are not alone, nor do you have to face your demons alone. Also, you can always Dial 9-8-8. YOU MATTER! Donโ€™t give up!

โ€œNo fight left or so it seems

I am a man whose dreams have all deserted

Iโ€™ve changed my face, Iโ€™ve changed my name

But no one wants you when you lose

. . .

Donโ€™t give up

โ€˜Cause you have friends

Donโ€™t give up

Youโ€™re not the only one

Donโ€™t give up

No reason to be ashamed

Donโ€™t give up

You still have us

Donโ€™t give up now

Weโ€™re proud of who you are

Donโ€™t give up

You know itโ€™s never been easy

Donโ€™t give up

โ€˜Cause I believe thereโ€™s a place

Thereโ€™s a place where we belongโ€

song reviewsplaylistlisthumanityCONTENT WARNING
20

About the Creator

๐‘๐Œ ๐’๐ญ๐จ๐œ๐ค๐ญ๐จ๐ง

หœโ€*ยฐโ€ข.หœโ€*ยฐโ€ข Time is our most valuable asset. Thank you for spending some of your time with me! โ€ขยฐ*โ€หœ.โ€ขยฐ*โ€หœ

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Jeremy White16 days ago

    Congrats on top story. I love all these songs. Thanks for writing about mental illness.

  • Novel Allen20 days ago

    I love Mad World sung by Susan Boyle. "Don't give up cause you have friends" is excellent advice. Thanks for the gift of musical healing.

  • Shirley Belk24 days ago

    Bravo for standing up for Mental Health! Congrats on Top Story...well deserved.

  • Ameer Bibi25 days ago

    Congratulations ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰ for top story You're making significant strides with your hard work and commitment. Keep up the momentum

  • angela hepworth26 days ago

    Wowโ€”half these songs Iโ€™ve heard a million times and never stopped to contemplate the lyrics! Super interesting story here!

  • Paul Stewart26 days ago

    I love how your brain works, sir! That Insane in the Brain was the first song you thought of. Love the fact that you turned this into a nice plea for people to get help and not give up. All of these songs are perfect...and I actually will stand by your decision to take the Donnie Darko version of Gary Jules, as that film is also very much about mental health, so it fits. Plus that version really makes you think about the words more deeply. There are some I would have included...Sweating Bullets by Megadeth is at least one that always comes to mind when I think about mental health and madness. the irish band called Therapy? has a few songs too. One called Trigger Inside is particularly dark. Their album Troublegum has a lot about depression, anxiety and mental health. And obviously, Brain Damage by Pink Floyd is probably one of my favourite. Coming Undone by Korn and of course, why is this even the last thing I mention The Downward Spiral by Nine Inch Nails. It is not the easiest listen...not by a long shot...but I've always felt it was brave and uncompromising in dealing with all the most troublesome of issues. Anyway, thank you for doing these pieces, Rob, I really love the sensitivity you take and your thoughts and insights! I saw the AI challenge. Dunno if I commented on it yet, but shall! Well done on this getting Top Story too.

  • ROCK 26 days ago

    "Don't Give Up" is always part of my song list; great mix and subject! Well done!

  • JBaz27 days ago

    All great songs, I like that you added the Katee Bush and Peter Gabriel song in this mix. Congratulations

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŽŠ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŽŠ

  • Gena Adamson27 days ago

    Bravo! ๐Ÿ‘ this is fantastic! Thank you for sharing ๐Ÿ˜Š

  • Wow I love this list, I am adding them to a Spotify list. You did such a great job in selecting these. It's been so long since I last listened to Matchbox20 Unwell. Thank you, thank you! Congrats on top story too!

  • Great list. I love the Gabriel/ Bush song... That is classic. Of course I love Mad World and Gary Jules does a fantastic rendition but it is Tears For Fears' original that is my favorite. If I may add a few Brain Damage by Pink Floyd and The Lunatics by Fun Boy 3.

  • Ameer Bibi27 days ago

    Congratulations ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰ for top story Your perseverance is both admirable and motivating. Keep forging ahead!

  • Cathy holmes27 days ago

    Wonderful list with some great tunes. Congrats on the TS.

  • Anna 27 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!! Well deserved!

  • yay!...Congrats!

  • Oh my, I remember that time when I was so addicted to Disturbia. It's so nostalgic listening to that again. These were all great songs Rob!

  • Anna 29 days ago

    Loved the whole madness theme! It was a great idea!

  • Christy Munson29 days ago

    I (and many others) had a wonderful time slipping darkly into madness this past March, but some forms of madness are no laughing matter. Thank you for including an all-important reminder, "You are not alone, and you do not have to face your demons alone. Also, you can always Dial 9-8-8. YOU MATTER!"

  • LOVE this playlist!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.