Beat logo

A Warchild Playlist

Songs From The Warchild Album Series

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
4
The First Warchild album

Introduction

I was wondering whether I had done a WarChild playlist and although I referenced it in this one, I, apparently have not done a playlist based on this charity album series.

You can support War Child by buying the albums and having something to keep and listen to, or make direct contributions via the link at the end of this playlist.

The first album was recorded in record time in September 1995, intended to help Bosnian children who were victims of a civil war that left its mark on people's minds, is both a commendable action and a cultural symbol. Many artists contributed to it: Noel Gallagher, The Boo Radleys, Blur, The Stones Roses (without Reni!), Suede, Portishead, The Levellers, Paul Weller, and Paul McCartney.

The albums can be found on Discogs and Amazon and I will list the album that the songs are from but won't link it.

Paul McCartney - "Calico Skies" from "Warchild: Hope"

I was listening to this album and this song came on. It is one of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard and have used it as an accompaniment for many of my poems, and it got me thinking about doing this playlist.

I intend to cover this on my YouTube channel one day, which is here:

Hot Chip - "Transmission" from "War Child: Heroes"

It is not always easy to cover Joy Division, and the first time I heard this I was not sure, but it has grown on me considerably. Possibly not quite as doom-laden as the Joy Division original but still a great take on the song.

Muse - "House Of The Rising Sun" from "War Child: 1 Love"

An absolutely vicious take on this traditional song from the very first "note" that you hear. and it is Muse in full brilliant flow.

Even though the song is traditional it is listed as "arranged by Alan Price". Price stuck his name on the Animals' version and creamed off the composing rights for himself much to the chagrin of the band. Yes his keyboard parts are an essential part of the performance, but they wouldn't have lasted without Eric Burdon's voice and the rhythm framework provided by the band, and why the hell he is credited on the Muse version, I don't know, but it is probably some legal mechanism that Price put into place.

Gorillaz - "Hong Kong" from "War Child: Help - A Day In The Life"

Damon Albarn is all over the War Child albums with Blur and Gorillaz and this is seven minutes of cool almost abient orientality. I think that is accurate.

A gentle acoustic guitar accompanied by Japanese strings accompany Damon's voice full of dark thoughts.

New Order - "Vietnam" from "War Child: Hope"

I always loved the Jimmy Cliff original, but New Order's covers are always excellent, like their original music. A great take on a mother being informed that her son will be returning in a box by telegram.

Joy Division were covered by Hot Chip and now New Order cover Jimmy Cliff.

The Kooks - "Victoria" from "War Child: Heroes"

A great take on the Ray Davies / Kinks original. Less abrasive than The Fall's excellent abrasive cover.

I love the choir and brass section in this, very enjoyable.

The One World Orchestra - "The Magnificent" from "Warchild: Help"

This is the one I will close this playlist with. It's the KLF and was my favourite track on the album and is probably my favourite piece across the whole series.

Thank you for listening and hope I have introduced you to some new music, and maybe tempted you to help the War Child charity.

pop culturevintagesong reviewsproduct reviewplaylisthumanitycelebritiesbandsalbum reviews90s music
4

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    "Humans against war is like a junky against dope." Catchy.

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    Great group of songs!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.